Thread: whose ball?
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Mar 24, 2005, 09:40pm
blindzebra blindzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by bballrob
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by bballrob
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Hand is considered part of the ball, and B hit the ball last.
I figured this was the answer he was looking for, but i don't buy it in this situation.
Why not? If B does not hit A's hand does the ball go OOB?

It is either a foul on B, because the contact did disadvantage A, or you expand 10-6-1 to cover this situation and penalize the player that DID cause the ball to go OOB.
10-6-1 only applies to fouls. No expansion allowed. The rule is not give the ball to the team that didn't CAUSE it to go OOB, the rule is, give it to the team that wasn't the last to touch it. A's ball.
10-6 applies to CONTACT, so I'm not really expanding anything. If hitting the hand that is on the ball is not a foul, logically it's the same as contacting the ball.
Reply With Quote