The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2005, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Re: Yes

Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by FrankHtown
9-2-8 refers to violations on a throw-in, not a free throw.
Exactly.
So on a free throw, it's the arrow.

On a throw-in, it's a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Mon Feb 21, 2005, 05:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 51
Cool

Here is the reference - 6-4-3d:

It is under the AP procedure:

6-4-3 In all jump ball situations other than the start of the game and each extra period, an alternating-possession throw-in shall result when:...

d. A live ball lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange, UNLESS A FREE THROW OR THROW-IN FOLLOWS.

Should resolve this issue I think.
Joe
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1