![]() |
On the first throw of a 1 and 1, the ball lodges between the rim and the backboard. Go with the arrow or defense gets the ball for a throw-in?
|
AP arrow.
Why would you consider giving the defense the ball? |
lodged ball
The crew that had this happen shot it over. That was not right. Other options were AP or a violation by the free thrower. You are right. I found it. Rule 6 sec.4, art.3d. Thanks
|
Interesting! But what if the ball lodges on the 1st of 2 free throws? Is it a violation or what else could it be?
|
Quote:
|
Re: lodged ball
Quote:
|
Re: Re: lodged ball
Quote:
|
Had someone ask me this on my site the other day (http://www.geocities.com/oz_referee now there is a shameless plug :D)
Answer is the same for FIBA - if it happens on the first free throw, it counts as a miss - if on the second, go to the arrow. BUT....personally I reckon you deserve some sort of an award if this happens on free throws. The only time I have ever seen a ball lodged on the ring has been from a 45 degree angle to the backboard - how on earth could it happen from dead in front????? |
Quote:
|
For completeness, remember that
if the ball lodges on a throw-in, it IS I violation, unless my mind deceiveth me yet again, a violation of the free throw . . .
|
Re: For completeness, remember that
Quote:
|
NF 9-2-8
The thrower shall not...Throw the ball so it lodges between the backboard and ring or comes to rest on the flange before it touches or is touched by another player. |
Quote:
|
9-2-8 refers to violations on a throw-in, not a free throw.
|
Yes
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41pm. |