The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 22, 2001, 08:38pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally posted by KDM
Play 1: A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. The ball is partially blocked by B1. The force of the foul (and of the blocked shot) causes the ball to richocet off B3 and into the basket. Do you count the basket? What if it was inside or outside the 3-pt. arc and B3 was inside the arc?
I'm going to partially disagree with the common answer here.

The block by B1 does not necessarily end the try nor does the contact by B3. It really depends on where B3 was relative to the block/ball. If the ball is still heading generally toward the basket when it glances off B3, I'm counting the basket if it goes. If it were heading in a direction that would clearly not go in had it not hit B3, I would not count it.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1