The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   3 Rules Questions -- NFHS (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/1817-3-rules-questions-nfhs.html)

KDM Tue Feb 20, 2001 03:40pm

Play 1: A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. The ball is partially blocked by B1. The force of the foul (and of the blocked shot) causes the ball to richocet off B3 and into the basket. Do you count the basket? What if it was inside or outside the 3-pt. arc and B3 was inside the arc?

Play 2: Team A scores a field goal. On the ensuing throwin, Team B violates by 'kicking' the ball. Does Team A still have access to 'running the baseline'? What if team B fouls prior to a completed throw-in?

Play 3: Team A attempts a 3-pt. shot. B1 fouls in the act of shooting, and the ball is partially blocked. The ball lands a few feet in front of the basket and bounces into the goal. Is the basket good and/or how many free throws?

bob jenkins Tue Feb 20, 2001 03:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by KDM
Play 1: A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. The ball is partially blocked by B1. The force of the foul (and of the blocked shot) causes the ball to richocet off B3 and into the basket. Do you count the basket? What if it was inside or outside the 3-pt. arc and B3 was inside the arc?

Play 2: Team A scores a field goal. On the ensuing throwin, Team B violates by 'kicking' the ball. Does Team A still have access to 'running the baseline'? What if team B fouls prior to a completed throw-in?

Play 3: Team A attempts a 3-pt. shot. B1 fouls in the act of shooting, and the ball is partially blocked. The ball lands a few feet in front of the basket and bounces into the goal. Is the basket good and/or how many free throws?

1. If the ball went below the level of the basket before hitting B3, then the try isn't good. The position of B1 and B3 is not relevant. Award A1 two or three throws, depending on A1's position.

2. Team A loses the right to run the end-line in both of these cases. (NCAA changed the rule this year to address this "inequity.")

3. Similar to play 1. The try ends when it's obvious it will not be good or when it hits the floor. Award A1 three throws.

Brian Watson Tue Feb 20, 2001 04:46pm

I would concur. Can't add much more.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Feb 20, 2001 06:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by KDM
Play 2: Team A scores a field goal. On the ensuing throwin, Team B violates by 'kicking' the ball. Does Team A still have access to 'running the baseline'? What if team B fouls prior to a completed throw-in?

What do you mean by "kicking" the ball? Please describe this play in more detail.

Sven Tue Feb 20, 2001 07:48pm

KDM,

Brian and bob are dead on.

Your description of plays 1 and 3 are similar to the Case Book 4.40.4B Play: "A1's three-point try is short and below ring level when it hits the shoulder of: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through the basket."

In such a scenario, two points would be scored because although the try had ended, a live ball passed through the basket.

The complication in your description (and it's a major one) is that a foul occurred to render the ball dead once it became clear that the try would be unsuccessful. Hence, the ball going through the basket was deceased...

Sven

ScottParks Wed Feb 21, 2001 07:41am

[Play 2: Team A scores a field goal. On the ensuing throwin, Team B violates by 'kicking' the ball. Does Team A still have access to 'running the baseline'? What if team B fouls prior to a completed throw-in?]

Clarification please? Since A scored, B had the ball for inbounds with access to "running the baseline", not A. If B violates by intentionally kicking the ball, A can't "still have access to "running the baseline" because they never had it in the first place.

Brian Watson Wed Feb 21, 2001 08:54am

Quote:

Originally posted by parkssa
[Play 2: Team A scores a field goal. On the ensuing throwin, Team B violates by 'kicking' the ball. Does Team A still have access to 'running the baseline'? What if team B fouls prior to a completed throw-in?]

Clarification please? Since A scored, B had the ball for inbounds with access to "running the baseline", not A. If B violates by intentionally kicking the ball, A can't "still have access to "running the baseline" because they never had it in the first place.

It is confusing, but I think he was going by the old standard that A is always has the ball.

sharkref Wed Feb 21, 2001 09:38am

Since the ball was kicked, like it was said, B committed a violation. All violations are spot throw-ins.

KDM Wed Feb 21, 2001 10:23am

Uh oh!!! I guess I didn't phrase it correctly. In play 2, Team A scores a f/g. On the ensuing throwin by Team B, Team A violates by kicking the ball. Does Team B now lose the right to 'run the baseline' on the next throw-in? ........ I think I just answered my own question. Since the throw-in had to 'end' in order for the ball to be 'kicked', the privilege of 'running the baseline' has ended. Correct?

Lotto Wed Feb 21, 2001 10:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by KDM
Uh oh!!! I guess I didn't phrase it correctly. In play 2, Team A scores a f/g. On the ensuing throwin by Team B, Team A violates by kicking the ball. Does Team B now lose the right to 'run the baseline' on the next throw-in? ........ I think I just answered my own question. Since the throw-in had to 'end' in order for the ball to be 'kicked', the privilege of 'running the baseline' has ended. Correct?
I messed up in my previous post, which I've now deleted. As was mentioned earlier, the new NCAA rule this year is that if a common foul is committed by B before the throw in occurs, then A doesn't lose the right to run the baseline. For this situation, I originally thought that the throw in would be at a designated spot. But with another look at the rules I found the following Approved Ruling after Rule 7.5.6a:

A.R. 10. After a goal by Team B, Team A has the ball for a throw-in from the end of
the playing court from where the goal was made. (a) B1 intentionally kicks the ball out
of bounds along the sideline or; (b) B1 intentionally kicks the ball out of bounds along
the end line from where the throw-in was attempted.

RULING: In (a) the kick is a
floor violation and the ball shall be awarded to Team A at the designated spot. In (b)
the illegal act of kicking the ball victimizes Team A. Consequently, Team A shall
retain the privilege to the throw-in from anywhere along the end line. In (a) and (b),
the throw-in was not legally completed since the kick, an illegal act, is an exception to
the ball touching or being touched by a player on the playing court. As a result, the
shot clock shall not start. When this situation occurs in the last minute of the second half or an extra period, neither the game clock nor the shot clock shall be started
because of the violation.

BktBallRef Wed Feb 21, 2001 10:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by KDM
Uh oh!!! I guess I didn't phrase it correctly. In play 2, Team A scores a f/g. On the ensuing throwin by Team B, Team A violates by kicking the ball. Does Team B now lose the right to 'run the baseline' on the next throw-in? ........ I think I just answered my own question. Since the throw-in had to 'end' in order for the ball to be 'kicked', the privilege of 'running the baseline' has ended. Correct?
Correct.

Camron Rust Thu Feb 22, 2001 08:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by KDM
Play 1: A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. The ball is partially blocked by B1. The force of the foul (and of the blocked shot) causes the ball to richocet off B3 and into the basket. Do you count the basket? What if it was inside or outside the 3-pt. arc and B3 was inside the arc?

I'm going to partially disagree with the common answer here.

The block by B1 does not necessarily end the try nor does the contact by B3. It really depends on where B3 was relative to the block/ball. If the ball is still heading generally toward the basket when it glances off B3, I'm counting the basket if it goes. If it were heading in a direction that would clearly not go in had it not hit B3, I would not count it.

Dan_ref Thu Feb 22, 2001 10:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by KDM
Play 1: A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. The ball is partially blocked by B1. The force of the foul (and of the blocked shot) causes the ball to richocet off B3 and into the basket. Do you count the basket? What if it was inside or outside the 3-pt. arc and B3 was inside the arc?

I'm going to partially disagree with the common answer here.

The block by B1 does not necessarily end the try nor does the contact by B3. It really depends on where B3 was relative to the block/ball. If the ball is still heading generally toward the basket when it glances off B3, I'm counting the basket if it goes. If it were heading in a direction that would clearly not go in had it not hit B3, I would not count it.

Camron, I believe this is what Bob said in item 1 of
his post.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1