The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #16 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2004, 12:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
There's also 10-3-6a - "preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put in play"
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2004, 01:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 572
10-3-6-a; delaying the game by acts such as..Preventing the ball from being made live promptly or from being put into play.
Two free throws & ball for division line throw in
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2004, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by Robmoz
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
T and put 3 seconds on the clock. The T is not for delay of game but for unsportsmanlike conduct.
Cam -

Well, technically speaking, you are to be corrected....

Per 9.2.11 - COMMENT: In situations with the clock running and five or less seconds left in the game, a throw-in plane violation or interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if its only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning had been issued. In this situation, if the official stopped the clock and issued a team warning, it would allow the team to benefit from the tactic.
While your citation is indeed correct, this situation also falls under 10-3-6a as was just mentioned by tonyp and FrankHtown. That was I was basing my ruling on but didn't take the time to locate the rule.\

So, there are two rules which can cover this situation. Both have exactly the same outcome so it doesn't really matter which one you choose.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2004, 05:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by Robmoz
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
T and put 3 seconds on the clock. The T is not for delay of game but for unsportsmanlike conduct.
Cam -

Well, technically speaking, you are to be corrected....

Per 9.2.11 - COMMENT: In situations with the clock running and five or less seconds left in the game, a throw-in plane violation or interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if its only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning had been issued. In this situation, if the official stopped the clock and issued a team warning, it would allow the team to benefit from the tactic.
While your citation is indeed correct, this situation also falls under 10-3-6a as was just mentioned by tonyp and FrankHtown. That was I was basing my ruling on but didn't take the time to locate the rule.\

So, there are two rules which can cover this situation. Both have exactly the same outcome so it doesn't really matter which one you choose.
Not exactly.

If the game goes to OT, by using the delay T the team now has a warning in the book as well, that may come into play in the OT.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2004, 08:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by Robmoz
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
T and put 3 seconds on the clock. The T is not for delay of game but for unsportsmanlike conduct.
Cam -

Well, technically speaking, you are to be corrected....

Per 9.2.11 - COMMENT: In situations with the clock running and five or less seconds left in the game, a throw-in plane violation or interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if its only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning had been issued. In this situation, if the official stopped the clock and issued a team warning, it would allow the team to benefit from the tactic.
While your citation is indeed correct, this situation also falls under 10-3-6a as was just mentioned by tonyp and FrankHtown. That was I was basing my ruling on but didn't take the time to locate the rule.\

So, there are two rules which can cover this situation. Both have exactly the same outcome so it doesn't really matter which one you choose.
Not exactly.

If the game goes to OT, by using the delay T the team now has a warning in the book as well, that may come into play in the OT.
Except that you DONT GIVE THE WARNING. So it's six of one, half a dozen of the other.
Reply With Quote
  #21 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2004, 08:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by Robmoz
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
T and put 3 seconds on the clock. The T is not for delay of game but for unsportsmanlike conduct.
Cam -

Well, technically speaking, you are to be corrected....

Per 9.2.11 - COMMENT: In situations with the clock running and five or less seconds left in the game, a throw-in plane violation or interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if its only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning had been issued. In this situation, if the official stopped the clock and issued a team warning, it would allow the team to benefit from the tactic.
While your citation is indeed correct, this situation also falls under 10-3-6a as was just mentioned by tonyp and FrankHtown. That was I was basing my ruling on but didn't take the time to locate the rule.\

So, there are two rules which can cover this situation. Both have exactly the same outcome so it doesn't really matter which one you choose.
Not exactly.

If the game goes to OT, by using the delay T the team now has a warning in the book as well, that may come into play in the OT.
Except that you DONT GIVE THE WARNING. So it's six of one, half a dozen of the other.
Sure you would, you warn after the T for breaking the plane and contacting the ball, I'd see no reason to NOT do it in this situation.

Of course we could double dip the kid and call it an unsporting T AND give them a delay of game warning.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2004, 08:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by Robmoz
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
T and put 3 seconds on the clock. The T is not for delay of game but for unsportsmanlike conduct.
Cam -

Well, technically speaking, you are to be corrected....

Per 9.2.11 - COMMENT: In situations with the clock running and five or less seconds left in the game, a throw-in plane violation or interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if its only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning had been issued. In this situation, if the official stopped the clock and issued a team warning, it would allow the team to benefit from the tactic.
While your citation is indeed correct, this situation also falls under 10-3-6a as was just mentioned by tonyp and FrankHtown. That was I was basing my ruling on but didn't take the time to locate the rule.\

So, there are two rules which can cover this situation. Both have exactly the same outcome so it doesn't really matter which one you choose.
Not exactly.

If the game goes to OT, by using the delay T the team now has a warning in the book as well, that may come into play in the OT.
Except that you DONT GIVE THE WARNING. So it's six of one, half a dozen of the other.
Yep, you do.

If B1 slaps the ball while thrower A1 has it, it's a technical foul. It's also a warning if no warning has been previously issued. The scorer should be instructed to write it in the book and the coach made aware of it.
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 22, 2004, 08:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:
Originally posted by Robmoz
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
T and put 3 seconds on the clock. The T is not for delay of game but for unsportsmanlike conduct.
Cam -

Well, technically speaking, you are to be corrected....

Per 9.2.11 - COMMENT: In situations with the clock running and five or less seconds left in the game, a throw-in plane violation or interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if its only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning had been issued. In this situation, if the official stopped the clock and issued a team warning, it would allow the team to benefit from the tactic.
While your citation is indeed correct, this situation also falls under 10-3-6a as was just mentioned by tonyp and FrankHtown. That was I was basing my ruling on but didn't take the time to locate the rule.\

So, there are two rules which can cover this situation. Both have exactly the same outcome so it doesn't really matter which one you choose.
Not exactly.

If the game goes to OT, by using the delay T the team now has a warning in the book as well, that may come into play in the OT.
Except that you DONT GIVE THE WARNING. So it's six of one, half a dozen of the other.
Yep, you do.

If B1 slaps the ball while thrower A1 has it, it's a technical foul. It's also a warning if no warning has been previously issued. The scorer should be instructed to write it in the book and the coach made aware of it.
Duh...

Sorry. Too many gingerbread cookies with pretty little sprinkles.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2004, 10:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
third hand knowledge is not necessarily good knowledge

Ok in the original post I mentioned that this play arrived at my doorstep third hand...well upon further review some facts have changed....Keep in mind that this is now 2nd hand knowledge LOL (which is much better than 3rd hand I might add).. Team A is down by 5 they hit a 3 to bring it to withing 2 with 3 seconds left...it is Team A that indeed grabs the ball hoping for a delay call so that B cannot run out the clock without inbounding the ball...
So the officials just let A stand there with the ball and did nothing, which I believe was correct
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2004, 10:43am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Re: third hand knowledge is not necessarily good knowledge

Quote:
Originally posted by cmathews
Ok in the original post I mentioned that this play arrived at my doorstep third hand...well upon further review some facts have changed....Keep in mind that this is now 2nd hand knowledge LOL (which is much better than 3rd hand I might add).. Team A is down by 5 they hit a 3 to bring it to withing 2 with 3 seconds left...it is Team A that indeed grabs the ball hoping for a delay call so that B cannot run out the clock without inbounding the ball...
So the officials just let A stand there with the ball and did nothing, which I believe was correct
That's OK cmathews,

It made for a much better scenario the way you incorrectly posted it the first time.

In all seriousness, your original post is the kind of post that I get the most benefit from on this board. The things that rarely happen, but that we may run into eventually. Having thought about them because of this board instead of being surprised by them on the floor is a benefit.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2004, 12:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
BZ
I agree completely....However we have to be able to recall the discussion quickly enough so as not to stand under the basket and filter through all we read here LOL
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 23, 2004, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 16
Wink

You mean you don't have copies of the forum in your back pocket ready to consult at a moments notice!!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1