![]() |
Ok before we start, I didn't see the play. I heard about it third hand and thought I would run it by all of you here.
1pt game Team A scores to go ahead with 3 seconds left on the clock. Team A has not been warned for delay at any point during the game. After they make the basket they grab the ball and hold it. They don't allow Team B to get the ball and time runs out. Team A is the victor. What would you do. A fellow official in our area called me this morning to ask what I would have done...I had a couple ideas.. I will post them later ok guys and gals Have at it.... and happy feasting LOL :D |
That's an obvious technical foul. What could be the question here? :confused:
|
There is no warning for that delay, especially with less than 5 seconds to go. I would assess a T.
|
Quote:
If Team A did it intentionally, technical foul. Z [Edited by zebraman on Dec 22nd, 2004 at 11:45 AM] |
I know what I would have done
Chuck,
I agree with you, I would have the T as an unsporting act. The reason I posted it is this. The guys doing the game did nothing.... |
There is a case book play that talks about reaching through the boundary in an obvious attempt to keep the ball from becoming alive in the closing seconds of a game. It is an automatic technical foul without any warning.
|
final seconds of the game I'd T for delay of game, no warning necessary in this case.
|
Quote:
|
Re: I know what I would have done
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
9.2.11 SITUATION: A1 is out of bounds for a throw-in. B1 reaches through the boundary plane and knocks the ball out of A1's hands. Team B has not been warned previously for a throw-in plane infraction. RULING: B1 is charged with a technical foul and it also results in the official having a team warning recorded and reported to the head coach. (4-46-1; 10-1-10) COMMENT: In situations with the clock running and five or less seconds left in the game, a throw-in plane violation or interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if its only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning had been issued. In this situation, if the official stopped the clock and issued a team warning, it would allow the team to benefit from the tactic. |
A warning would not be necessary in this situation as it was clearly an unsporting act for A1 to hold the ball intentionally thus preventing B1 from inbounding the ball. Some might try to issue a warning and put three seconds back on the clock which would give Team A an advantage in setting up their defense for the inbound pass.
I believe that a technical foul should be called (9.2.11) on A1 for a delay of game there is no warning for this per the case book referenced. |
T and put 3 seconds on the clock. The T is not for delay of game but for unsportsmanlike conduct.
|
Quote:
Well, technically speaking, you are to be corrected.... Per 9.2.11 - COMMENT: In situations with the clock running and five or less seconds left in the game, a throw-in plane violation or interfering with the ball following a goal should be ignored if its only purpose is to stop the clock. However, if the tactic in any way interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throw-in, a technical foul for delay shall be called even though no previous warning had been issued. In this situation, if the official stopped the clock and issued a team warning, it would allow the team to benefit from the tactic. |
Thanks BBR
BBR,
Thanks for the reference. To answer other questions, no actually this was a varsity contest. Makes one wonder sometimes.... |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:10am. |