The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 19, 2004, 07:52am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by johnnyrao
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins

This falls under the "correctable error" provisions -- erroneously counting or cancelling a score. It must be corrected before the second live ball.

I'm certainly no expert but I have to ask. If you correct this than, in my opinion, you are admiting a mistake by not calling the origianl violation which, I think, is a judgment call. Can the referees go back and review a judgment call and then decide that they bew it and correct the score? What if it wasn't a backboard violation? What if it was a missed traveling call? If U1 does not call an obvious travel and the player scores a basket does the coach have the right to question it at the next dead ball? If so, can the R overrule U1 if he knows for a fact his partner blew it and then use the correctable error rule as justification? I'm not picking on you Bob, but youre explanation above has me confused. My original thought was that there is nothing you can do in this case since you can't go back and call a violation after you missed it. Seems to me you did not erroneously cancel the score because you didn't call a violation. Perhaps the best you can do is admit you blew it and drive on, but can you really use correctable error?
I think we've caught bob in one of his rare mistakes. I can't remember a time when he was wrong, so this is a day to take note of. This is a no-call, and can't be corrected. The ref just has to live with "the ignominy and disgrace" of making the mistake.
Philososophically, I agree that you should have to live and die with missing the call if that much time expired. And, certainly, if you change the play to a different violation--such as travelling, shooter stepping OOB, etc., would you correct all of those too? For that matter, R2-10-1 says "a rule is inadvertantly set aside", so you could theoretically include a PC foul in that "correction after the fact" category too. Sure opens up a can of worms.

But.......

In a strict reading of rule 2-10:
1) There is a rule that states that a ball shot over the backboard is OOB, and thus dead.
2) A rule was therefore inadvertantly set aside, and such fact was admitted to by the official.
3) The rule that was inadvertantly set aside did result in a score being erroneously counted.
4) The "error" of counting the score was recognized in a timely fashion.


Conclusion? Bwaaaaaaaaaaaa!!

I don't have a clue on how to really argue this one with Bob.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1