View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 18, 2004, 10:51pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,185
Quote:
Originally posted by Jack
Gentlemen,

Another question from a coach.

A player grabs a wide offenside rebound just outside the key close to the baseline.

He turns and from that position shoots and makes a high arching shot.

The referee allowed the basket the other team inbounded the ball. Play continued and then at the next dead ball -perhaps ten seconds later. The opposing coach complained and the reeferee took the points off the board- citing the illegality of shooting from behind the backboard.

Question 1 - what is the criteria for such a call in High School.
It's a violation for the ball to pass over the top of a rectangular backboard.

Quote:
Question 2 - once play has continued after the other team inbounded and advanced the ball can the refferee essentially change his mind like that.

regards,

Jack
This falls under the "correctable error" provisions -- erroneously counting or cancelling a score. It must be corrected before the second live ball.

Reply With Quote