Just had a couple of more thoughts on this.
1. If A1 shoots the ball over the rectangular backboard, the officials do not recognize the violation, and the ball does not go into the goal, but comes down and grabbed by B1 who throws a long pass to B2 at the other end of the court who makes a lay-in, it would be silly to argue that this score was erroneous because of the unrecognized violation at the other end.
2. Setting aside a rule and failing to recognize/call a violation are not the same.
An example of setting aside a rule which results in erroneously counting a score is:
A1 shoots the ball is on the ring when B1 jumps and slaps the backboard. The slap cause the goal to shake and the ball to fall off the ring and not enter the goal. The official charges B1 with a technical foul and also calls BI and awards Team A two points.
That score was erroneously counted and could be corrected during the proper time frame.
|