View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 18, 2004, 11:35pm
johnnyrao johnnyrao is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
Quote:
Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:
Originally posted by Jack
Gentlemen,

Another question from a coach.

A player grabs a wide offenside rebound just outside the key close to the baseline.

He turns and from that position shoots and makes a high arching shot.

The referee allowed the basket the other team inbounded the ball. Play continued and then at the next dead ball -perhaps ten seconds later. The opposing coach complained and the reeferee took the points off the board- citing the illegality of shooting from behind the backboard.

Question 1 - what is the criteria for such a call in High School.
It's a violation for the ball to pass over the top of a rectangular backboard.

Quote:
Question 2 - once play has continued after the other team inbounded and advanced the ball can the refferee essentially change his mind like that.

regards,

Jack
This falls under the "correctable error" provisions -- erroneously counting or cancelling a score. It must be corrected before the second live ball.

I'm certainly no expert but I have to ask. If you correct this than, in my opinion, you are admiting a mistake by not calling the origianl violation which, I think, is a judgment call. Can the referees go back and review a judgment call and then decide that they bew it and correct the score? What if it wasn't a backboard violation? What if it was a missed traveling call? If U1 does not call an obvious travel and the player scores a basket does the coach have the right to question it at the next dead ball? If so, can the R overrule U1 if he knows for a fact his partner blew it and then use the correctable error rule as justification? I'm not picking on you Bob, but youre explanation above has me confused. My original thought was that there is nothing you can do in this case since you can't go back and call a violation after you missed it. Seems to me you did not erroneously cancel the score because you didn't call a violation. Perhaps the best you can do is admit you blew it and drive on, but can you really use correctable error?
Reply With Quote