The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 09, 2004, 01:29pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by Snaqwells
zebraman,
I don't think possession is necessary. Only a legal touch that ends the throw-in. If B1 legally bats the ball out of bounds (as opposed to kicking or punching it), never gaining possession, it's a spot throw-in.
Read the last sentence in 7-5-7 and see if you still feel that way.

The original post by Gmoore is confusing so let me reword it.

A1 scores. B1 has a "run-the-endline" throw-in. B2 catches the ball and is fouled immediately. The ensuing throw-in is on the baseline. Our state interpreter specifically told us that team B still has endline-run privileges. Similarly, if A1 batted the ball out-of-bounds and the throw-in is on the endline, team B retains endline-run privileges.

In Gmoore's post, team B would no longer get endline privileges because team A gained possession before team B's ensuring throw-in.

Z
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1