View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 09, 2004, 02:19pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
Similarly, if A1 batted the ball out-of-bounds and the throw-in is on the endline, team B retains endline-run privileges.
We had a big debate on this last year, whether the legal touch by A1 ends the throw-in, and then B loses end-line privileges, or whether the violation of causing the ball to go out-of-bounds is part of the throw-in, thus giving B legal right to run the endline again.

I don't remember the outcome, except that different states are handling it differently, and NFHS hasn't ruled definitively one way or the other (what else is new!?)
Um, I would think that casebook play 7.5.7SitB(c) would tell anybody how to handle this one. It's the exact same play and it's clear as can be. End of throw-in followed by a new spot throw-in. The NFHS ruled as definitively on this play as they possibly could.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Dec 9th, 2004 at 02:22 PM]
Reply With Quote