View Single Post
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 09, 2004, 03:35pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Case book play 7.5.7SitB(c)

Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball after the made basket, then proceeds out of bounds to start the throw-in process. B1 runs along the end line out of bounds while attempting to find an open teammate for the throw-in. Immediately after B1 releases the throw-in pass, the ball is deflected out of bounds across the end line by A2.
RULING: A2 legally contacted the ball and subsequently hit it out of bounds, ending the throw-in. Team B is awarded a designated spot throw-in on the end line.

How could any interpreter in the world screw this one up? This interpretation tells you quite plainly and clearly that a throw-in ends with touching.

Lah me!

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Dec 9th, 2004 at 03:40 PM]
Reply With Quote