The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 09:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 197
Quote:
Originally posted by TimTaylor
Quote:
Originally posted by Paul LeBoutillier
Agreed! That's a tough one. Contact was made by the defender, and even though there was no chance for the ball to go in, the other player WAS in the act of shooting.

I guess I wouldn't want to have to explain to the coach why I DIDN'T call the contact.

In ysong's dedscription, defender made contact with shooters wrist before ball had completely left shooter's hand. IMOH as described it's clearly illegal use of hands - call the foul.
My hesitation to call this a foul is because B1 does not gain any advantage resulting from this contact. The ball is blocked before the contact anyway. Do you guys ususlly apply advantage/disadvantage principle here?

In the second scenario, based on "hand is part of the ball" principle, a foul should "never" be called if

a. the ballhandler's hand is in contact with ball when a opponent contacts the ballhandler.
b. the contact is on the ballhandler's hand only. (not on wrist, on arm, etc.)

also when contact occurs, the ballhandler may be holding the ball, dribbling, or in the act of passing/shooting/rebounding/inbounding/"jumping the ball", (do I miss any here? ), the principle always applies.

Do you guys agree?

thanks.





Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1