View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 19, 2004, 02:47am
TimTaylor TimTaylor is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,273
Quote:
Originally posted by Paul LeBoutillier
Agreed! That's a tough one. Contact was made by the defender, and even though there was no chance for the ball to go in, the other player WAS in the act of shooting.

I guess I wouldn't want to have to explain to the coach why I DIDN'T call the contact.

In ysong's dedscription, defender made contact with shooters wrist before ball had completely left shooter's hand. IMOH as described it's clearly illegal use of hands - call the foul.

Mdray's situation is slightly different. 10-6-1 in addressing legal/illegal contact says in part "he/she shall not contact the opponent with his/her hand unless such contact is only with the opponents hand while it is on the ball and is incidental to an attempt to play the ball." In mdray's description B1's contact with shooter's hand on the ball appears to clearly be incidental to the block - no call, play on. If the coach asks: "Coach, the contact was with the part of the hand on the ball, in my judgement it was incidental to the block and therefore clearly legal under rule 10".
Reply With Quote