![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
Chuck: I agree with you 100% for both NFHS and NCAA rules codes. The question that needs to be answered is: Is the contact by B2 incidental, personal (common, intentional, or flagrant) or technical (intentional or flagrant)? Since the ball is dead and B2's contact is not incidental then B2's contact has to be considered a technical foul by definition. But I do not know if I am comfortable with this interpretation. I think that it could be argued that if B2's contact would be considered a common foul if the ball were live then it would be logical to consider this a personal (common) foul because the contact occured during an attempt to place the ball at the disposal of the thrower. I did a quick look see in both the NFHS Casebook and the NCAA Approved Rulings and did not see a play like the one being discussed. But I just have to believe that there has to be a casebook play out there that covers this play. MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn. Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials Ohio High School Athletic Association Toledo, Ohio |
Bookmarks |
|
|