View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 09, 2004, 09:35pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
No, you are not wrong. The ball is still dead.

NCAA 6-1-4b, "The ball shall become live when, on a throw-in, the ball is placed at the disposal of the thrower-in."

NCAA 4-16-1b, "The ball is at the disposal of a player when it is caught by the thrower-in or free-thrower after it is bounced to him or her" (emphasis mine).

Seems pretty clear. Ball's dead until it's caught.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote