![]() |
|
|||
Quote:
"Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the PATH...." Maybe to you PATH means the direction you think something SHOULD be going. To me it means the direction something IS going.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
![]()
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
I still say under your interp, you can never have a 5 second count. A1 just needs to turn away every 4 seconds. How does that fit the intent of the rule? FYI, I spoke with Bill Kennedy tonight, so I asked him how he calls it. He said by LGP, within 6 feet, and actively guarding. He also said, that it is silly to expect B1 to defend a boundary and that the direction A1 is moving does not matter. |
|
|||
Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
They have nothing to do with the wording of the rule. But apparently Bob Kennedy answered your questions. Just do what he told you to do.
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
||||
Quote:
You have said in the turning away and moving away from the basket that the count ends because B1 is no longer in the path. In Chuck's play there is no path either, because A1 is still moving away. Under your interpretation is there still a count? In my play B1 is sliding with A1, but is not directly in front, so there is no path. Do you have a count? Another question, what is the intent of the closely guarded rule? If path is required, isn't all A1 has to do is keep turning away from B1 to stop the count? How does that fit your thinking on the intent of the rule? |
|
|||
Quote:
If A1 changes direction- sideways, backwards, etc,- isn't A1 also changing or altering his path at the same time? There's nothing in the rule book that says that the dribbler's "path" had to remain in a straight line. And if the defender similary moves sideways, forwards, etc. as the dribbler is going sideways, backwards, etc. in his altered path, and the defender still continually remains within 6 feet of the dribbler, hasn't the defender met the concepts contained in Rule 4-10 (staying within 6 feet of the dribbler) and also Rule 4-23-3a&b (moving laterally or obliquely with the dribbler while not being required at the same time to be continuously facing the dribbler)? Of course if you disagree, feel free to continue for another week or two. I've got plenty of popcorn. |
|
||||
Quote:
![]() As badly as the rule book is written and laid out, I just can't see any sense in taking something this ambiguous as gospel. Dan's stance contradicts the spirit and intent of the rule. It also irks me that he is pulling an MTD, by refusing to answer the questions that point to the flaw in his arguement. Oh well, I have the stamina of a marathon runner. I can keep it going, so get your popcorn ready. ![]() |
|
|||||||
Quote:
No! Now shut up & go away, I don't want to talk to you no more, you empty-headed animal, food trough wiper. I fart in your general direction. You mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries. Quote:
Are you still here? Of course the path doesn't have to stay the same...but by definition the person guarding is required to be in the path. Now go away before I taunt you a second time! Quote:
I fixed it for ya Quote:
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||||
Quote:
Maybe yours does, but not mine. BTW, my apologies to Brad Kennedy
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
|
|||
Quote:
No! Now shut up & go away, I don't want to talk to you no more, you empty-headed animal, food trough wiper. I fart in your general direction. You mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries. [/B][/QUOTE] Well!!! That's the LAST time that I'll sell YOU a dead parrot! Btw, I'm not leaving either until I find out whointhehell Bruce Kennedy is. And I don't have a clue whereinthehell John Galt popped outa either. Inquiring minds need to know! Now I'm going to put the popcorn on. |
|
|||
Quote:
Btw, I'm not leaving either until I find out whointhehell Bruce Kennedy is. And I don't have a clue whereinthehell John Galt popped outa either. Inquiring minds need to know! Now I'm going to put the popcorn on. [/B][/QUOTE] No no...it's not dead, it's just resting. And you should really be ashamed of yourself for not knowing who Bart Kennedy is! ![]()
__________________
9-11-01 http://www.fallenheroesfund.org/fallenheroes/index.php http://www.carydufour.com/marinemoms...llowribbon.jpg |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|