Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
FYI, I spoke with Bill Kennedy tonight, so I asked him how he calls it. He said by LGP, within 6 feet, and actively guarding. He also said, that it is silly to expect B1 to defend a boundary and that the direction A1 is moving does not matter.
|
How nice for you and Bill Kennedy.
|
Why not answer the questions Dan?
|
I already explained why the questions are irrelevant.
They have nothing to do with the wording of the rule.
But apparently Bob Kennedy answered your questions. Just do what he told you to do.
|
It's Bill Kennedy, and you have said they are irrelevant, but that does not make it so.
You have said in the turning away and moving away from the basket that the count ends because B1 is no longer in the path.
In Chuck's play there is no path either, because A1 is still moving away. Under your interpretation is there still a count?
In my play B1 is sliding with A1, but is not directly in front, so there is no path. Do you have a count?
Another question, what is the intent of the closely guarded rule?
If path is required, isn't all A1 has to do is keep turning away from B1 to stop the count? How does that fit your thinking on the intent of the rule?