Thread: Closely Guarded
View Single Post
  #102 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 22, 2004, 08:41am
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
[B}

Where is your rule support?
Take a look at how the rules define guarding. That i smy rule support, as I have been claiming since about page 2 of this thread.

"Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the PATH...."

Maybe to you PATH means the direction you think something SHOULD be going.

To me it means the direction something IS going.
You still have not answered Chuck's A1 backing up, or my parallel path question and how they apply to closely guarded. WHY? Neither have B1 directly in the path of A1.

I still say under your interp, you can never have a 5 second
count. A1 just needs to turn away every 4 seconds. How does that fit the intent of the rule?

FYI, I spoke with Bill Kennedy tonight, so I asked him how he calls it. He said by LGP, within 6 feet, and actively guarding. He also said, that it is silly to expect B1 to defend a boundary and that the direction A1 is moving does not matter.
While I certainly hate to interject myself into an argument between Junior and the Codgerly Crotch( or was it vice/versa?), can I make a point without worrying about having the wrath of you two fall on my head?
[/b]

No! Now shut up & go away, I don't want to talk to you no more, you empty-headed animal, food trough wiper. I fart in your general direction. You mother was a hamster and your father smelt of elderberries.

Quote:

If A1 changes direction- sideways, backwards, etc,- isn't A1 also changing or altering his path at the same time? There's nothing in the rule book that says that the dribbler's "path" had to remain in a straight line.


Are you still here? Of course the path doesn't have to stay the same...but by definition the person guarding is required to be in the path.

Now go away before I taunt you a second time!
Quote:


And if the defender similary moves sideways, forwards, etc. as the dribbler is going sideways, backwards, etc. in his altered path, and the defender still continually remains within 6 feet of the dribbler, hasn't the defender met the concepts contained in Rule 4-10 (staying guarding within 6 feet of the dribbler) and also Rule 4-23-3a&b (moving laterally or obliquely with the dribbler while not being required at the same time to be continuously facing the dribbler)?


I fixed it for ya
Quote:


Of course if you disagree, feel free to continue for another week or two. I've got plenty of popcorn.

Enjoy your popcorn and don't forget to save some of it for Ben Kennedy....mumble mumble cough i hope you choke on it you old bas.....cough cough....
Reply With Quote