The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 02, 2004, 06:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 56
Team A has team control in the frontcourt,while passing to A2,B1 deflect and was the last to touch it. Can any member from team A recover the ball in the backcourt without a violation?
Am sure they can but I cannot find it in the rulebook that can give me a better scenario or definition of it. can u guys help me on this one, is there a web site that might show me better details?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 02, 2004, 07:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
I don't know about a web site, but the answer to your play is: yes, any member of Team A may recover the ball in the backcourt. This is b/c a member of Team B was the last to touch it before it went into the backcourt. If the ball had deflected of a member of Team A before gaining backcourt status, then it would be a violation for a Team A player to be the first to touch it in the backcourt.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 02, 2004, 07:47pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by xxssmen
Team A has team control in the frontcourt,while passing to A2,B1 deflect and was the last to touch it. Can any member from team A recover the ball in the backcourt without a violation?
Am sure they can but I cannot find it in the rulebook
Rule 9-9-1. Case book play 9.9.1SitC(b) is the exact play you set out above.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 02, 2004, 11:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
If the ball had deflected of a member of Team A before gaining backcourt status, then it would be a violation for... a... Team A player to be the first to touch it in the backcourt.
To be specific, "it would be a violation for any Team A player to be the first to touch it in the backcourt."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 03, 2004, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
I don't know about a web site, but the answer to your play is: yes, any member of Team A may recover the ball in the backcourt. This is b/c a member of Team B was the last to touch it before it went into the backcourt. If the ball had deflected of a member of Team A before gaining backcourt status, then it would be a violation for a Team A player to be the first to touch it in the backcourt.
If the ball had deflected of a member of Team A before gaining backcourt status, then it would be a violation for a Team A player to be the first to touch it in the backcourt or frontcourt.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1