The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 05, 2004, 11:19am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by mdray
what I'm asking (but not very well)is, if the contact with the opponent is NOT a result of a bat by the opponent -- say the ball gets away from the dribbler and it just bounces off a defender....has that dribble ended and can another one begin as a result of the ball contacting the opponent?
Yes, the dribble ended with the touching by any other player(not necessarily the defense alone), and the player can then dribble again. See rule 9-5-3- "a player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is because he/she has lost control because of a pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by, another player".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1