The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Mar 05, 2004, 10:39am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
reviewing rules 4-15 and 9-5-3 ---

it says in 4-15-4d that one way a dribble ends is when an opponent bats (intentionally strikes) the ball. I started thinking about an interrupted dribble contacting another player. I understand the dribbler can "catch up" to an interrupted dribble and continue the dribble. Let's say the ball contacts another player (opponent or teammate)during an interrupted dribble...has this contact with another player ended the dribble? I'm thinking the dribble has not ended. Does this mean then, that the dribbler can only "continue" the dribble? Would it be an illegal dribble to recover the ball (grab it with two hands) and dribble again?

Does rule 9-5-3 have any application here? (a player can dribble a second time if it is after he/she has lost control because of a fumble which has then touched another player).
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:59am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1