The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   dribbling rule (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12586-dribbling-rule.html)

mdray Fri Mar 05, 2004 10:39am

reviewing rules 4-15 and 9-5-3 ---

it says in 4-15-4d that one way a dribble ends is when an opponent bats (intentionally strikes) the ball. I started thinking about an interrupted dribble contacting another player. I understand the dribbler can "catch up" to an interrupted dribble and continue the dribble. Let's say the ball contacts another player (opponent or teammate)during an interrupted dribble...has this contact with another player ended the dribble? I'm thinking the dribble has not ended. Does this mean then, that the dribbler can only "continue" the dribble? Would it be an illegal dribble to recover the ball (grab it with two hands) and dribble again?

Does rule 9-5-3 have any application here? (a player can dribble a second time if it is after he/she has lost control because of a fumble which has then touched another player).

N_Stripes Fri Mar 05, 2004 10:47am

Player control has ended when the ball is slapped or hits the B player. A1 may recover the ball and begin a new dribble. Make note however, that team control has not ended.

Jurassic Referee Fri Mar 05, 2004 10:58am

Quote:

Originally posted by mdray

Let's say the ball contacts another player (opponent or teammate)during an interrupted dribble...has this contact with another player ended the dribble? I'm thinking the dribble has not ended. Does this mean then, that the dribbler can only "continue" the dribble? Would it be an illegal dribble to recover the ball (grab it with two hands) and dribble again?


The bat by the defense ended the original dribble.The dribbler can legally recover the ball and dribble again. Case book play 4.15.4SitF.

mdray Fri Mar 05, 2004 11:06am

what I'm asking (but not very well)is, if the contact with the opponent is NOT a result of a bat by the opponent -- say the ball gets away from the dribbler and it just bounces off a defender....has that dribble ended and can another one begin as a result of the ball contacting the opponent?

Bart Tyson Fri Mar 05, 2004 11:16am

anytime the ball contacts any other player in any way the dribble has ended.

Jurassic Referee Fri Mar 05, 2004 11:19am

Quote:

Originally posted by mdray
what I'm asking (but not very well)is, if the contact with the opponent is NOT a result of a bat by the opponent -- say the ball gets away from the dribbler and it just bounces off a defender....has that dribble ended and can another one begin as a result of the ball contacting the opponent?
Yes, the dribble ended with the touching by any other player(not necessarily the defense alone), and the player can then dribble again. See rule 9-5-3- "a player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has ended, unless it is because he/she has lost control because of a pass or <b>fumble</b> which has then <b>touched</b>, or been touched by, another player".


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1