The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2004, 04:00am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by footlocker
What is the violation? Why can't B1 back up 6 feet? He is still in the lane and gains no advantage. I thought you could back up as much as you desired.

But still BI on A1. B's ball.

No, you can't back up as much as you desire. Once the FT starts,B1, or any player, can't leave a marked lane space until the ball touches the ring or backboard, or the FT ends. See rule 9-1-6,the "NOTE" after rule 9-1-9, and casebook play 9.1.COMMENT- "Once a free throw starts,no player occupying a marked lane space(first three on each side) may enter or leave such space....until the ball touches the ring or backboard or until the free throw ends". As per rule 1-5-2, each lane space extends 36 inches from the outside edge of the lane lines toward the sidelines. If you back out more than 36 inches, you just committed a violation. This rule has been in forever.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1