The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Your call (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12350-your-call.html)

icallfouls Thu Feb 19, 2004 07:46pm

This happened in a varisty HS game.

1 & 1 is in effect. Ball is at disposal of FT shooter (A5). B1 is on the lower block nearer the bench. Coach is giving instructions and B1 steps off the lane line about 6 ft. to hear coach better. A5 shoots, the ball is bouncing on the rim when A1 (next to B1) leaps and dunks the ball.

What is your ruling?

mplagrow Thu Feb 19, 2004 07:52pm

I hate these
 
OK, I'll bite. Although I am certainly not the most knowledgeable or experienced official on this esteemed forum.

Principle: Enforce the violations in the order they occur. When B1 steps out of the lane spot, A5 will be awarded another try provided the shot misses. BI on A1, in effect, the shot is a miss. Start over with the front end of the 1-and-1 again.

How'd I do?

Bart Tyson Thu Feb 19, 2004 08:01pm

I thought it was a T for BI or GT on FT's.

mplagrow Thu Feb 19, 2004 08:39pm

Oops
 
Oh yeah. My problem is I ref grade school, and I never have calls to make above the rim! So let's rethink that. Clear the lane. Start over on 1-and-1. Go to other end, shoot 2 and ball at midcourt? Am I getting warmer?

Jurassic Referee Thu Feb 19, 2004 09:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by mplagrow
OK, I'll bite. Although I am certainly not the most knowledgeable or experienced official on this esteemed forum.

Principle: Enforce the violations in the order they occur. When B1 steps out of the lane spot, A5 will be awarded another try provided the shot misses. BI on A1, in effect, the shot is a miss. Start over with the front end of the 1-and-1 again.

How'd I do?

You were doing well until Bart tried to talk you out of the right call. :D Rule change last year- BI during a FT is no longer a T- just GT.

mplagrow Thu Feb 19, 2004 10:36pm

Thanks
 
OK, so I was alright. What was actually called in the game, icallfouls?

footlocker Fri Feb 20, 2004 02:02am

What is the violation? Why can't B1 back up 6 feet? He is still in the lane and gains no advantage. I thought you could back up as much as you desired.

But still BI on A1. B's ball.

Jurassic Referee Fri Feb 20, 2004 04:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by footlocker
What is the violation? Why can't B1 back up 6 feet? He is still in the lane and gains no advantage. I thought you could back up as much as you desired.

But still BI on A1. B's ball.


No, you can't back up as much as you desire. Once the FT starts,B1, or any player, can't leave a marked lane space until the ball touches the ring or backboard, or the FT ends. See rule 9-1-6,the "NOTE" after rule 9-1-9, and casebook play 9.1.COMMENT- "<i>Once a free throw starts,no player occupying a marked lane space(first three on each side) may enter or leave such space....until the ball touches the ring or backboard or until the free throw ends"</i>. As per rule 1-5-2, each lane space extends 36 inches from the outside edge of the lane lines toward the sidelines. If you back out more than 36 inches, you just committed a violation. This rule has been in forever.

mplagrow Fri Feb 20, 2004 07:53am

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

[i] This rule has been in forever.
Well spoken, obviously from one qualified to make the observation! :D

WinterWillie Fri Feb 20, 2004 08:22am

Call
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by mplagrow
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

[i] This rule has been in forever.
Well spoken, obviously from one qualified to make the observation! :D
Of course he's qualified, Jurassic Referee has been around since the Paleolithic Age! ;)

icallfouls Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:37am

As it happened
 
Jurassic, you are on track.

Rule change last year- BI during a FT is no longer a T- just GT.

So we have a violation on B1 for moving out of a lane space during a FT. We also have a violation of GT on A1 during a FT. This is a double violation.

Go to the AP as there is no team control on an attempted FT.

Smiley Fri Feb 20, 2004 12:22pm

No, this is not a double violation. Do not go to the arrow. The BI means the basket is waved off. Because there is no basket, award the substitute throw for the initial lane violation. Repeat the 1 and 1.

cmathews Fri Feb 20, 2004 12:54pm

just a little question here....how far back does the lane space extend? Does it go forever similar to the 3 ft for a throw in??

Camron Rust Fri Feb 20, 2004 01:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by cmathews
just a little question here....how far back does the lane space extend? Does it go forever similar to the 3 ft for a throw in??
Nope, it's 3 feet deep.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:25am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1