Thread: Your call
View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 20, 2004, 04:00am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by footlocker
What is the violation? Why can't B1 back up 6 feet? He is still in the lane and gains no advantage. I thought you could back up as much as you desired.

But still BI on A1. B's ball.

No, you can't back up as much as you desire. Once the FT starts,B1, or any player, can't leave a marked lane space until the ball touches the ring or backboard, or the FT ends. See rule 9-1-6,the "NOTE" after rule 9-1-9, and casebook play 9.1.COMMENT- "Once a free throw starts,no player occupying a marked lane space(first three on each side) may enter or leave such space....until the ball touches the ring or backboard or until the free throw ends". As per rule 1-5-2, each lane space extends 36 inches from the outside edge of the lane lines toward the sidelines. If you back out more than 36 inches, you just committed a violation. This rule has been in forever.
Reply With Quote