The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 06:05pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Question

NF rules. A1 passes the ball to A2. The ball deflects off A2 and heads toward the sideline. The ball bounces inbounds and as the ball then is in the air over the OOB area, A2 tries to jump from inbounds to tap it back before it (or he) touches anything OOB and it appears that he will be able to do this successfully. However, while A2 is in the air and reaching for the ball, coach B (who is legally standing in his box OOB) grabs the ball.

What's your call?
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 06:59pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
NF rules. A1 passes the ball to A2. The ball deflects off A2 and heads toward the sideline. The ball bounces inbounds and as the ball then is in the air over the OOB area, A2 tries to jump from inbounds to tap it back before it (or he) touches anything OOB and it appears that he will be able to do this successfully. However, while A2 is in the air and reaching for the ball, coach B (who is legally standing in his box OOB) grabs the ball.

What's your call?
Hmm... very interesting. Options, and next play:

1) delay of game warning, and A's ball
2) delay of game technical foul, and obvious...
3) violation on B, A's ball

My choice is 2.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 07:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
option 4) violation on team A.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 07:19pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 957
Ok, I'll give this a try.

A's ball at the spot of the illegal touch.

NFHS Rules Book '02-'03 - 7-2-Art 1 & 2
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 07:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
Ok, I'll give this a try.

A's ball at the spot of the illegal touch.

NFHS Rules Book '02-'03 - 7-2-Art 1 & 2
Don't think these rules apply. Player = the 10 legal players on the court.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 07:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 957
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
Ok, I'll give this a try.

A's ball at the spot of the illegal touch.

NFHS Rules Book '02-'03 - 7-2-Art 1 & 2
Don't think these rules apply. Player = the 10 legal players on the court.
Any other reference for us here?

Where is the penalty stated for such an action in the rule book?

I couldn't find it. I was just givin it a shot as I stated.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 07:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Irving, Texas
Posts: 675
I vote for Option 2.
__________________
- SamIAm (Senior Registered User) - (Concerning all judgement calls - they depend on age, ability, and severity)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 08:15pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
Ok, I'll give this a try.

A's ball at the spot of the illegal touch.

NFHS Rules Book '02-'03 - 7-2-Art 1 & 2
Don't think these rules apply. Player = the 10 legal players on the court.
Any other reference for us here?

Where is the penalty stated for such an action in the rule book?

I couldn't find it. I was just givin it a shot as I stated.
Like you said no penalty in the rule book. Sooo option 4
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 08:23pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
Ok, I'll give this a try.

A's ball at the spot of the illegal touch.

NFHS Rules Book '02-'03 - 7-2-Art 1 & 2
Don't think these rules apply. Player = the 10 legal players on the court.
Any other reference for us here?

Where is the penalty stated for such an action in the rule book?

I couldn't find it. I was just givin it a shot as I stated.
Like you said no penalty in the rule book. Sooo option 4
The ball is still inbounds while it was over the OOB plane. This is no different than a ball bouncing on the floor inbounds and A1 going for it, when the Coach B reaches through the OOB plane from OOB and then touches the ball. He has interfered with a live ball.

Unless a case play is cited, under 2-3, a T shall be called.

AKA, option 2.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 08:29pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,221
Quote:
Originally posted by JugglingReferee
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
Ok, I'll give this a try.

A's ball at the spot of the illegal touch.

NFHS Rules Book '02-'03 - 7-2-Art 1 & 2
Don't think these rules apply. Player = the 10 legal players on the court.
Any other reference for us here?

Where is the penalty stated for such an action in the rule book?

I couldn't find it. I was just givin it a shot as I stated.
Like you said no penalty in the rule book. Sooo option 4
The ball is still inbounds while it was over the OOB plane. This is no different than a ball bouncing on the floor inbounds and A1 going for it, when the Coach B reaches through the OOB plane from OOB and then touches the ball. He has interfered with a live ball.

Unless a case play is cited, under 2-3, a T shall be called.

AKA, option 2.
Soooooooo......

Using your same logic, it's a T if the ball hits the coach while he's sitting on the bench?

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 5th, 2004 at 07:31 PM]
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 08:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,988
When it is out of bounds, and within his box, the coach can touch it. It's in his area. What if it were to brush against his leg, i don't think a T would be warrented there.

The ball is out of bounds when it touches something that is out of bounds. Whether it be the scorer's table, the floor, the wall, an official or a coach. If the ball is coming towards him while he is in his coaching box, he has the right to grab it.

As long as he doesn't interfere with the ball while it is still inbounds, or outside of his coaching box.
__________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 09:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 198
As long as he doesn't interfere with the ball while it is still inbounds...

Isn't the ball still inbounds until it touches something out of bounds?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 09:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,988
I think i phrased that wrong. I should have said that he can touch it once it passes the out of bounds plane and into his coaching box.

Although i can't find a rule to support this, i might be wrong.
__________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 09:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
Quote:
Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
Ok, I'll give this a try.

A's ball at the spot of the illegal touch.

NFHS Rules Book '02-'03 - 7-2-Art 1 & 2
Don't think these rules apply. Player = the 10 legal players on the court.
Any other reference for us here?

Where is the penalty stated for such an action in the rule book?

I couldn't find it. I was just givin it a shot as I stated.
Like you said no penalty in the rule book. Sooo option 4
Option 4 it is.

B's ball.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 09:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by ReadyToRef
As long as he doesn't interfere with the ball while it is still inbounds...

Isn't the ball still inbounds until it touches something out of bounds?
Yeah, and that something is coach B.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1