Although this won't really help most of us, the NBA addresses this specifically. From the Q & A, page 16:
Quote:
A pass from Player A1 to Player A2 is defected by Player B1. With the ball near the sideline, the coach of Team A secures possession. It is determined by the official that Player B1 could have saved the ball from going out-of-bounds, but was denied that opportuanity by the action of the coach. What is the ruling? A delay-of-game warning is issued to Team A and the ball is awarded to Team B out-of-bounds on the sideline nearest the spot of the violation. If a previous delay-of-game warning has been issued to Team A, a technical foul shall be assessed.
RULE 8 - SECTION II-f
RULE 12A - SECTION II-a(7)
|
Notice Team B is awarded the ball even tho B1 is the last player to touch the ball inbounds.