View Single Post
  #27 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 11:54pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,162
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
NF rules. A1 passes the ball to A2. The ball deflects off A2 and heads toward the sideline. The ball bounces inbounds and as the ball then is in the air over the OOB area, A2 tries to jump from inbounds to tap it back before it (or he) touches anything OOB and it appears that he will be able to do this successfully. However, while A2 is in the air and reaching for the ball, coach B (who is legally standing in his box OOB) grabs the ball.

What's your call?

1) The coaching box is a privilege that the rules allow.

2) The coaching box is for the Head Coach to coach his
players, not chew an officials tuchus.

3) The coaching box does not give the Head Coach a free
pass to interfere with play.

4) The Head Coach must be aware of where the ball is and to
attempt to get out of the way of the ball and the players
if they come near his coaching box. It is one thing for
a Head Coach to catch the ball when he is in his coaching
box when it comes at him and there is no possibility of a
player making a play for the ball; this is nothing more
than a out-of-bounds violation by the team that caused
the ball to go out-of-bounds. But in Mark's posted play
Coach B interfered with play. If a Head Coach interfers
with play while in his coaching box, his actions are a
technical foul for unsportsmanlike conduct.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio

Last edited by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.; Wed Dec 08, 2021 at 05:42pm. Reason: Corrected spelling mistake.
Reply With Quote