View Single Post
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 10:25pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Do you have a rules citation that will back your T call up? Do you also have a rule citation that will negate R7-2-1( a ball is caused to go OOB by the last player inbounds to touch it) and R7-1-2(the ball is OOB when it touches any other person on or outside a boundary). Those are pretty specific rules.
Extend the situation... say Coach B stretches across the sideline.

What makes the most sense is that the official makes a judgement call. (Cuz you know, we do that from time to time in a game.) If the official judged that the ball became dead by virtue of being out of bounds because of an intentional act by a non-player, with an opposing player able to make a play on the ball, then we have a technical foul.
Reply With Quote