The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 07, 2000, 12:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 74
Here's what the National Federation Case Book has to say:

"The official erroneously grants Team B a time-out in a situation when Team B cannot have one. What happens now?

Ruling: Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was granted. The time-out once granted cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privileges and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams."
(5.8.3E)

I did it once myself on an OOB play near the end of a JV game. The ball was at the disposal of the inbounding team, when the defense requested a time-out, which I granted. I knew in a moment I had erred, but I may have been the only one in the gym who did, and I wasn't talking. No one said a word. The time-out was used, play continued, and I learned from the mistake.

Sven
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1