The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #17 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 02, 2003, 12:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,241
Quote:
Originally posted by IAABO_Ref
It IS a pass a bad pass but still a pass.

Rule 4-31

A pass is movement of the ball caused by a player who throws, bats or rolls the ball to another player.

A1 passed the ball to A2. A2 didn’t see the pass. So what it was a ball looking for player control A1 gets to the ball and picks it up again it’s nothing and A1 still can dribble.
Not correct. If A1 "picks it up" (e.g., both hands, holding the ball), A1 cannot (legally) dribble again.

The specific play is in the casebook somewhere.

But, it does lead to a couple of interesting questions: if A1 steps on the boundary line while running for the ball, is it OOB? If A1 commits a foul while going for the ball, is it a player control foul?



Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1