The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 17, 2003, 04:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
I reason it into correctable error as follows:

FTs should have been B then A.

A has taken FTs.

Now we realize B needs to take FTs, so B has not been awarded merited FTs - this is correctable.

We award B their merited FTs.

We re-start at POI, B gets ball, free to run baseline.
Hawks Coach, I agree with your reasoning on this play. However, if the officials don't realize the mistake until after all free-throws are attempted, then it does not fit any of the correctable error categories. Funny that whether or not it is a correctable error depends on the time that the officials realize the mistake!

The NCAA ruling is complicated by the POI, whereas in NFHS you wouldn't care what order they were taken in and just administer the division line throw-in (see the casebook play on shooting free-throws in the wrong order).
Therefore, I also believe that you are correct that what happened with the last free throw for the personal foul determines whether or not you use the AP arrow. If it was good, give the ball to the opponent and no arrow, but if missed you have to use the arrow, since neither team got a chance at the rebound.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1