The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 06, 2024, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 844
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I see the issue. I wonder if the word "Frontcourt" was added at some point. I have always applied it to any airborne player (in the appropriate situations).

This interp implies that if the ball wasn't deflected, the play would be legal:

2017 Interps, SITUATION 6: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team’s frontcourt (Team B’s backcourt). A1’s throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from his/her backcourt
court and catches the ball in the air. B2 lands with the first foot in the frontcourt and second foot in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team B. The throw-in ends with the deflection (legal touch) by B1. B2 gains possession/control and first lands in Team B’s frontcourt and then steps in Team B’s backcourt. The provision for making a normal landing only applies to the exceptions of a throw-in and a defensive player, and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)

And, this play does not mention the original status of A2

2000-2001 Interps, SITUATION 2: During a throw-in by Al, in Team A’s frontcourt, A2 jumps in the air and catches the ball. A2 then lands with the left foot in A’s frontcourt and then puts the right foot down in the backcourt. RULING: Legal. The exception in Rule 9-9 allows the player to make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in frontcourt or backcourt. (9-9 Exp 1)
-I posted this question on the site on November 14, 2006. Throw-in for Team A near the division line in their front court (Team B’s backcourt). A1’s throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from their backcourt court, catches the ball in the air and lands first foot in the frontcourt, second foot in the backcourt. This, and 3 others, were interps for 2007-2008. I guess they were re-posted as interps for 2017.
To answer a few of your questions/statements. The original status of B-2 is mentioned. It is Backcourt.
-Frontcourt was added in 2004. It is in exception 3. They reworded the exceptions and added a 3rd. It's been that was for 20 years now.
-Also I do not know why in the ruling they did not list 'Jump ball' as an exception.
-In the 2000-2001 interp is states in Team A’s frontcourt, A2 jumps. To me it applies A-2 jumped from the Frontcourt.
-A‐1’s throw‐in is caught by airborne A‐2 who is jumping from Team A’s backcourt to Team A’s frontcourt. A‐2 lands on their right foot in the frontcourt, then places their left foot on the court in the backcourt. The official rules a backcourt violation. Is the official correct? I DO NOT see anything that allows this play, to be legal if a player leaves the court from their backcourt on a Jump ball or Throw-in, catch the ball in the air, and makes a normal landing, Frontcourt then backcourt.

My head is spinning

Last edited by Zoochy; Wed Nov 06, 2024 at 02:37pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What would you do? FT situation JS 20 Basketball 14 Mon Nov 24, 2008 01:32pm
Bad situation. Jerry Blum Basketball 14 Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:46am
OB situation sj Basketball 15 Tue Jan 02, 2007 01:11pm
OOB situation IURef Basketball 6 Thu Mar 04, 2004 05:46pm
Another .3 second situation williebfree Basketball 11 Sun Dec 22, 2002 09:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1