The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 06, 2024, 09:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,249
I see the issue. I wonder if the word "Frontcourt" was added at some point. I have always applied it to any airborne player (in the appropriate situations).

This interp implies that if the ball wasn't deflected, the play would be legal:

2017 Interps, SITUATION 6: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team’s frontcourt (Team B’s backcourt). A1’s throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from his/her backcourt
court and catches the ball in the air. B2 lands with the first foot in the frontcourt and second foot in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team B. The throw-in ends with the deflection (legal touch) by B1. B2 gains possession/control and first lands in Team B’s frontcourt and then steps in Team B’s backcourt. The provision for making a normal landing only applies to the exceptions of a throw-in and a defensive player, and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)

And, this play does not mention the original status of A2

2000-2001 Interps, SITUATION 2: During a throw-in by Al, in Team A’s frontcourt, A2 jumps in the air and catches the ball. A2 then lands with the left foot in A’s frontcourt and then puts the right foot down in the backcourt. RULING: Legal. The exception in Rule 9-9 allows the player to make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in frontcourt or backcourt. (9-9 Exp 1)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 06, 2024, 01:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I see the issue. I wonder if the word "Frontcourt" was added at some point. I have always applied it to any airborne player (in the appropriate situations).

This interp implies that if the ball wasn't deflected, the play would be legal:

2017 Interps, SITUATION 6: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team’s frontcourt (Team B’s backcourt). A1’s throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from his/her backcourt
court and catches the ball in the air. B2 lands with the first foot in the frontcourt and second foot in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team B. The throw-in ends with the deflection (legal touch) by B1. B2 gains possession/control and first lands in Team B’s frontcourt and then steps in Team B’s backcourt. The provision for making a normal landing only applies to the exceptions of a throw-in and a defensive player, and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)

And, this play does not mention the original status of A2

2000-2001 Interps, SITUATION 2: During a throw-in by Al, in Team A’s frontcourt, A2 jumps in the air and catches the ball. A2 then lands with the left foot in A’s frontcourt and then puts the right foot down in the backcourt. RULING: Legal. The exception in Rule 9-9 allows the player to make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in frontcourt or backcourt. (9-9 Exp 1)
-I posted this question on the site on November 14, 2006. Throw-in for Team A near the division line in their front court (Team B’s backcourt). A1’s throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from their backcourt court, catches the ball in the air and lands first foot in the frontcourt, second foot in the backcourt. This, and 3 others, were interps for 2007-2008. I guess they were re-posted as interps for 2017.
To answer a few of your questions/statements. The original status of B-2 is mentioned. It is Backcourt.
-Frontcourt was added in 2004. It is in exception 3. They reworded the exceptions and added a 3rd. It's been that was for 20 years now.
-Also I do not know why in the ruling they did not list 'Jump ball' as an exception.
-In the 2000-2001 interp is states in Team A’s frontcourt, A2 jumps. To me it applies A-2 jumped from the Frontcourt.
-A‐1’s throw‐in is caught by airborne A‐2 who is jumping from Team A’s backcourt to Team A’s frontcourt. A‐2 lands on their right foot in the frontcourt, then places their left foot on the court in the backcourt. The official rules a backcourt violation. Is the official correct? I DO NOT see anything that allows this play, to be legal if a player leaves the court from their backcourt on a Jump ball or Throw-in, catch the ball in the air, and makes a normal landing, Frontcourt then backcourt.

My head is spinning

Last edited by Zoochy; Wed Nov 06, 2024 at 02:37pm.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 07, 2024, 02:49pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,555
Double Your Pleasure, Double Your Fun ...

2007-08 Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 6: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team's frontcourt. A1's throw-in is deflected by B1, who is applying direct pressure on A1. A2 jumps from the team's frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. The throw-in ends when it is legally touched by B1. When A2 gains possession/control in the air, he/she has frontcourt status. A backcourt violation has occurred when A2 lands in the backcourt. (9-9-1; 9-9-3)

SITUATION 7: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team's backcourt (Team B's frontcourt). A1's throw-in is deflected by B1, who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from his/her frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team B. The throw-in ends with B1's deflection (legal touch). When B2 gains possession/ control in the air, he/she has frontcourt status. A backcourt violation has occurred when B2 lands in backcourt. (9-9-1; 9-9-3)

SITUATION 8: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team's backcourt (Team B's frontcourt). A1's throw-in is intercepted by B1. B1 jumps from his/her frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands first foot in the frontcourt and second foot in the backcourt. RULING: No violation, legal play. It doesn't matter if one foot lands before the other provided it is a "normal landing." Since there was no deflection, the throw-in had not ended. (9-9-1; 9-9-3)

SITUATION 9: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team's frontcourt (Team B's backcourt). A1's throw-in is deflected by B1, who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from his/her backcourt and catches the ball in the air. B2 lands with the first foot in the frontcourt and second foot in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team B. The throw-in ends with the deflection (legal touch) by B1. B2 gains possession/control and first lands in Team B's frontcourt and then steps in Team B's backcourt. The provision for making a normal landing only applies to the exceptions of a throw-in and a defensive player, and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball. (9-9-1; 9-9-3)

SITUATION 10: A1, in the team's frontcourt, passes to A2, also in the team's frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A's backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A's frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A's backcourt, but never having touched in Team A's backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A's backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1; 4-4-3; 9-9-1)

2017-18 Basketball Rules Interpretations

SITUATION 3: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team’s frontcourt. A1’s throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. A2 jumps from the team’s frontcourt, catches the ball
in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. The throw-in ends when it is legally touched by B1. When A2 gains possession/control in the air, he/she has frontcourt status. A backcourt violation has occurred when A2 lands in the backcourt. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)

SITUATION 4: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team’s backcourt (Team B’s frontcourt). A1’s throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from his/her frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team B. The throw-in ends with B1’s deflection (legal touch). When B2 gains possession/control in the air, he/she has frontcourt status. A backcourt violation has occurred when B2 lands in backcourt. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)

SITUATION 5: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team’s backcourt (Team B’s frontcourt). A1’s throw-in is intercepted by B1. B1 jumps from his/her frontcourt, catches the ball in the air and lands with the first foot in the frontcourt and second foot in the backcourt. RULING: No violation, legal play. It doesn’t matter if one foot lands before the other provided it is a “normal landing.” Since there was no deflection, the throw-in had not ended. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)

SITUATION 6: Team A is making a throw-in near the division line in the team’s frontcourt (Team B’s backcourt). A1’s throw-in is deflected by B1 who is applying direct pressure on A1. B2 jumps from his/her backcourt and catches the ball in the air. B2 lands with the first foot in the frontcourt and second foot in the backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team B. The throw-in ends with the deflection (legal touch) by B1. B2 gains possession/control and first lands in Team B’s frontcourt and then steps in Team B’s backcourt. The provision for making a normal landing only applies to the exceptions of a throw-in and a defensive player, and is only for the player making the initial touch on the ball. (9-9-1, 9-9-3)

SITUATION 7: A1, in the team’s frontcourt, passes towards A2, also in the team’s frontcourt. B1 deflects the ball toward Team A’s backcourt. The ball bounces only in Team A’s frontcourt before crossing the division line. While the ball is still in the air over Team A’s backcourt, but never having touched in Team A’s backcourt, A2 gains possession of the ball while standing in Team A’s backcourt. RULING: Backcourt violation on Team A. Team A was still in team control and caused the ball to have backcourt status. Had A2 permitted the ball to bounce in the backcourt after having been deflected by B1, there would have been no backcourt violation. (4-4-1, 4-4-3, 9-9-1)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 07, 2024, 03:34pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,555
Citation ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zoochy View Post
In the 2000-2001 interp is states in Team A’s frontcourt, A2 jumps. To me it implies A-2 jumped from the Frontcourt.
"Ah, you assumed. My dear, you should never assume, because when you assume, you make an ASS out of U and ME." (Felix Unger)

2000-2001 Interpretations

Supplement #1 (11/9/00)


SITUATION 2: During a throw-in by A1, in Team A’s frontcourt, A2 jumps in the air and catches the ball. A2 then lands with the left foot in A’s frontcourt and then puts the right foot down in the backcourt. RULING: Legal. The exception in Rule 9-9 allows the player to make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in frontcourt or backcourt. (9-9 Exp 1)


https://youtu.be/svkgOsr7pUc?feature=shared
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Thu Nov 07, 2024 at 03:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 07, 2024, 06:43pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 14,994
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
The purpose and intent of the rule is to allow normal landings in which the feet do not always simultaneously touch the floor.

Sent from my SM-S926U using Tapatalk
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
"Ah, you assumed. My dear, you should never assume, because when you assume, you make an ASS out of U and ME." (Felix Unger)

2000-2001 Interpretations

Supplement #1 (11/9/00)


SITUATION 2: During a throw-in by A1, in Team A’s frontcourt, A2 jumps in the air and catches the ball. A2 then lands with the left foot in A’s frontcourt and then puts the right foot down in the backcourt. RULING: Legal. The exception in Rule 9-9 allows the player to make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in frontcourt or backcourt. (9-9 Exp 1)


https://youtu.be/svkgOsr7pUc?feature=shared
Keeping it simple.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 07, 2024, 07:47pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Posts: 852
Things have changed since 2000-2001
As I stated earlier, in 2004, They rewrote Rule 9-9 to include a 3rd article. It says for an exception to a Backcourt violation, a players has to legally jump from the players Frontcourt from a Jumpball, Throw-in or while the player is on defense and have a normal landing.
So what if during play a defense player (B-1) jumps from their Backcourt, while in the air B-1 intercept and controls the ball. B-1 lands 1st foot in the Frontcourt followed by the 2nd foot in the backcourt. Violation? Or Play on?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 08, 2024, 02:23pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,555
Purpose And Intent ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Keeping it simple.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
The purpose and intent of the rule is to allow normal landings in which the feet do not always simultaneously touch the floor.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
The NFHS does a poor job in writing rules. I'm going to err on the side of purpose and intent and not a technicality gotcha.
Agree 100%.

Of course, for the player who receives a pass, or stops a dribble, while straddling the division line, with both feet on a different half of the court, while holding the ball and pivoting, that's a whole 'nother story.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Fri Nov 08, 2024 at 05:58pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Nov 08, 2024, 06:01pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,555
Fancy Footwork ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Of course, for the player who receives a pass, or stops a dribble, while straddling the division line, with both feet on a different half of the court, while holding the ball and pivoting, that's a whole 'nother story.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What would you do? FT situation JS 20 Basketball 14 Mon Nov 24, 2008 01:32pm
Bad situation. Jerry Blum Basketball 14 Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:46am
OB situation sj Basketball 15 Tue Jan 02, 2007 01:11pm
OOB situation IURef Basketball 6 Thu Mar 04, 2004 05:46pm
Another .3 second situation williebfree Basketball 11 Sun Dec 22, 2002 09:06pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1