![]() |
|
|
|||
Quote:
I don't have the specific citations for you but the headings provided in rule #4 should be easy to find in your books. Rule 4: GUARDING 1. After establishing LGP, the defender is allowed to move laterally or obliquely to maintain position provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs. *Note the rule does not say the defender must slide to maintain position but is permitted to move meaning he has options. 2. The rulebook also states the guard is not required to continue facing the opponent. So, while moving to maintain position, does guarding the dribbler with the shoulder or side of the torso facing the dribbler necessarily mean LGP has been lost? Rule 4: BLOCKING, CHARGING 3. If a guard has obtained LGP, the player with the ball must get his/her head and shoulders past the torso of the guard. If contact occurs on the torso of the defensive player, the dribbler is responsible for the contact. *Torso = trunk of the player’s body. In some instances the RB and CB make reference to the front of the torso as well as the side of the torso. Casebook Rule 4: GUARDING POSITION 4. B1 has obtained LGP on A1 and moves to maintain it. A1 moves laterally and contacts defender B1 but does not get head and shoulders past the torso of B1. Contact occurs on the side of B1’s torso. Ruling: Player control foul by A1. Questions: In the situation you described, did the defender: Established LGP? Move toward the dribbler causing contact while moving to maintain LGP? While moving to maintain his defensive position, was the dribbler able to get his head/shoulders past defender’s torso? Did the dribbler jump sideways into the side of the defender’s torso? What did the defender do wrong? Best of luck to you and your son! |
|
|||
Appreciate the replies and the encouragement. Have 8 games this Saturday so should be interesting as some coaches are great while others think every time they're on offense a foul has been committed yet while they're on defense everything is clean.
As far as the responses I'm still a bit confused with conflicting answers. I understand if he gets hit in the torso because the dribbler didn't get his head and shoulder past him. Where the question is since they're shoulder to shoulder. Let's say A1 jumps sideways and a little forward into the defender while running it's not in the torso because it's the shoulder but doesn't the defender have a right to that spot? Would this be better to have a no call or is someone at fault? |
|
|||
Quote:
|
|
|||
Quote:
Based on your description of running side by side and A1 moving laterally into the defender I would call this PCF. I've done it in varsity games, my partners have called it like this and I've seen it and been witness to this same call in D1 men's basketball. Experience obviously helps in these situations as what could look like the same exact play to spectators or coaches could be called differently by the calling official due to their angle on the play. It's hard for people outside the lines to grasp how officials see the game. We take in and compute a whole bunch of information very fast. When on the court we have a much better feel for the speed and intensity of what is happening. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
What if a defender never established LGP and attempts to guard a dribbler | MiamiWadeCounty | Basketball | 18 | Tue Aug 30, 2011 03:09am |
Defender hits dribbler's hand; ball goes OOB; Whatcha got? | Jimgolf | Basketball | 37 | Fri Dec 07, 2007 02:50pm |
Dribbler cuts in front of defender | assignmentmaker | Basketball | 4 | Sat Feb 12, 2005 08:02pm |
Dribbler cuts in front of defender | JeffTheRef | Basketball | 48 | Mon Mar 31, 2003 03:57am |
Basket no Parallel to Floor | Ron Pilo | Basketball | 9 | Mon Feb 04, 2002 06:29pm |