View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 09, 2023, 04:45pm
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by KansasJoe View Post
New to officiating but coached two boys from K - 7th until the school takes over. Decided to officiate on the weekends with my 15 year old. Doing the lower elementary grades which I enjoy because I get to do quite a bit of coaching while officiating and everyone seems to really enjoy that. Done 31 games so far and will end up doing about 50 by the time the season is over.

Here's a situation which comes up multiple times. B1 is the defender in legal guarding position and A1 is ball handler. A1 drives but instead of B1 sliding over to keep his torso between him and the basket he simply turns and starts sprinting alongside A1. If I see an extended armbar I'll give them a warning and then call a foul since they're restricting A1s movement. What if they're side by side so shoulder to shoulder and A1 jumps sideways into B1? If B1's torso takes the contact then charge but in this case it's their shoulder. Not in legal guarding position but B1 has a right to a place on the floor.

Another scenario is if A1 goes up for a shot and B1 jumps with him there's minimal contact but they both go flying forward. Both scenarios are if they're perfectly even because if A1s head and shoulder is past then I'd call a defensive foul if there's contact.

Probably an easy question for you experienced refs but want to make sure I'm giving my best and having accurate calls which they'll see as they get older.

Thanks,

Let's forget that B1 originally had a LGP against A1 and address the situation of A1 dribbling is a straight line and B1 is running beside A1 in a straight line that is parallel to A1's line and with every step that A1 and B1 take they are legally occupying a new spot on the Court.

We should know that like The Theory of Special Relativity is a special application of The Theory of General Relativity, the Guarding Rule is a special application of the Screening Rule (Thanks to Mark, Jr., for that insight.).

Therefore, if B1 is not Guarding A1, what is B1 doing with respect to A1? B1 is in effect setting legal Moving Screen against A1. While B1 cannot make contact with A1 by moving laterally into A1's line of movement, neither can A1 make contact with B1 by moving into B1's line of movement.

Therefore, when A1 moved laterally from his line into B1's line and made contact with B1, A1 has committed a Pushing Foul which is a PCF.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote