The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 06, 2022, 12:19pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,529
If It’s Not Illegal, It’s Legal ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
#7 A-1 attempts a pass to A-2 in Team A’s backcourt. The ball hits Team B’s basket and deflects directly back to A-1 who catches the ball and starts a dribble. The official rules a legal play. Is this correct? IAABO answer: #7 No.

4-4-5: A ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard[/COLOR][/B] is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds.

4.15.1 SITUATION C: A1 attempts a pass to A2 during pressing action in A’s backcourt. The ball hits B’s backboard and deflects directly back to A1 who catches the ball and: (a) passes the ball to A2; or (b) starts a dribble. RULING: The pass against B’s backboard was the start of a dribble which ended when A1 caught the ball. In (a), the pass is legal action. In (b), it is a violation for a second dribble. (4-4-5; 9-5)

4.15.4 SITUATION C: After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball: (a) against the opponent’s ]backboard and catches the rebound; (b) against an official, immediately recovers the ball and dribbles again; or (c) against his/her own backboard in an attempt to score (try), catches the rebound and dribbles again. RULING: A1 has violated in both (a) and (b). Throwing the ball against the opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. In (c), the action is legal. Once the ball is released on the try, there is no player or team control, therefore, A1 can recover the rebound and begin a dribble.
Why, in #7, does IAABO interpret the the ball touching the ring/basket to be the same as the ball touching the backboard?

Why would IAABO state that the answer for #7 is no, it’s not a legal play?

Had the ball struck the backboard the play would have certainly been an illegal (double) dribble.

But the caseplays regarding this situation state “backboard” not “basket”.

In this situation the ball hitting the “basket”, by rule, is the same as a player holding the ball and throwing it into the air and catching it without moving a pivot foot.

That’s legal.

If it’s not illegal, it’s legal.

This situation would definitely be illegal if the ball hit the “backboard”, or an official.

It did neither.

It hit the “basket”.

Any IAABO guys out there hear from their interpreters?

I'm still waiting for mine to reply to my email.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Dec 06, 2022 at 04:10pm.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basket Or Backboard ??? BillyMac Basketball 2 Thu Nov 03, 2022 11:04am
Ball Hitting Basket Ring bob jenkins Basketball 32 Thu Dec 02, 2021 04:14pm
Kobe Bryant behind backboard basket mendi Basketball 16 Tue Nov 24, 2009 07:30am
I actually saw a Basket Interference with the new grabbed ring rule. Damian Basketball 2 Mon Nov 17, 2003 08:08pm
Slapping backboard or basket interference kld9 Basketball 8 Mon Dec 24, 2001 03:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:29pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1