The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 03, 2022, 01:34am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,184
It is not the same, because a ball hitting the backboard does not reset the shot clock. A ball hitting the ring does.
However, you have a point that IAABO screwed the pooch with #48. A ball hitting the ring is a try, therefore there is no team control when the ball hits the ring (in the frontcourt). Thus, because there is no team control, the ball can legally be touched by A in their backcourt after a try. Because the ball was recovered in the backcourt following a try, A gets a full reset of the shot clock and a new 10-second count.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 03, 2022, 10:30am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,555
Backboard ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
... #48. A ball hitting the ring is a try, therefore there is no team control when the ball hits the ring (in the frontcourt) ...
Actually, according to 2021-22 NFHS Basketball Casebook 9.5 Situation, the ball hitting the backboard is a try.

2021-22 NFHS Basketball Casebook 9.5 Situation: A1 dribbles and comes to a stop after which he/she throws the ball against: (a) the team’s own backboard; Ruling: Legal in (a); a team’s own backboard is considered a try for goal.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 03, 2022, 12:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by ilyazhito View Post
It is not the same, because a ball hitting the backboard does not reset the shot clock. A ball hitting the ring does.
However, you have a point that IAABO screwed the pooch with #48. A ball hitting the ring is a try, therefore there is no team control when the ball hits the ring (in the frontcourt). Thus, because there is no team control, the ball can legally be touched by A in their backcourt after a try. Because the ball was recovered in the backcourt following a try, A gets a full reset of the shot clock and a new 10-second count.
Not correct. A pass which hits the ring is not a try. The official must deem that the player was throwing for goal. It is a judgment call.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 03, 2022, 12:22pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,034
Billy,
Strictly speaking the ball contacting the ring/basket is not the same as the ball striking the backboard at either end of the court.

If the thrown ball is stated to be a pass in #48, then this must be a backcourt violation on a test. In practice the official on the court is going to deem this a try for goal and allow play to continue. The only NFHS rules support for this not being a backcourt violation is the casebook play which you have cited and the text of that states backboard. Also this is a pretty new case play ruling. That used to be a violation as well.

For question #7, IAABO is incorrect. There is no NfHS rule extant stating that it qualifies as a dribble for a thrown ball to strike the opponent’s basket. The rule clearly states backboard, so IAABO has no rules support for deeming this a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 03, 2022, 01:03pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,555
Not The Same ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Strictly speaking the ball contacting the ring/basket is not the same as the ball striking the backboard at either end of the court. If the thrown ball is stated to be a pass in #48, then this must be a backcourt violation on a test ... For question #7, IAABO is incorrect. There is no NFHS rule extant stating that it qualifies as a dribble for a thrown ball to strike the opponent’s basket. The rule clearly states backboard, so IAABO has no rules support for deeming this a violation.
Agree. Thanks Nevadaref. Well stated.

IAABO seems to have conflicting interpretations on these two questions. That is what confuses me.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Dec 03, 2022 at 01:46pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 04, 2022, 12:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 1,184
A ball hitting the backboard, absent player control being gained by the other team, does not reset . A ball hitting the ring will, if the official judges the ball hitting the ring to be a shot (which it usually is).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basket Or Backboard ??? BillyMac Basketball 2 Thu Nov 03, 2022 11:04am
Ball Hitting Basket Ring bob jenkins Basketball 32 Thu Dec 02, 2021 04:14pm
Kobe Bryant behind backboard basket mendi Basketball 16 Tue Nov 24, 2009 07:30am
I actually saw a Basket Interference with the new grabbed ring rule. Damian Basketball 2 Mon Nov 17, 2003 08:08pm
Slapping backboard or basket interference kld9 Basketball 8 Mon Dec 24, 2001 03:39pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1