The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2021, 12:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
4.15.1 SITUATION C ... The pass against B’s backboard was the start of a dribble which ended when A1 caught the ball ... it is a violation for a second dribble.
But the ball didn't bounce directly back to A1. It touched something else, the ring. The whole point of OP was if the ball hit the ring instead of the backboard only, would it be legal to start a dribble? Some seem to indicate "legal" since the rule specifically says backboard only. I am asking if the ball hits the backboard, then the ring, then goes to A1 would it be legal for A1 to start a dribble since the rule specifically says the ball (from the backboard) must return directly to A1 which it did not.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Syracuse - VA -ball through ring video?? Ktr Basketball 2 Tue Mar 29, 2016 08:48pm
Ball Lodged in Ring on Free Throws David Stripes Basketball 2 Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:04pm
Pass hitting player and going through basket Dave9819 Basketball 30 Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:26am
Ball enters ring from below fiasco Basketball 6 Fri Oct 24, 2008 06:46pm
I actually saw a Basket Interference with the new grabbed ring rule. Damian Basketball 2 Mon Nov 17, 2003 08:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1