The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 29, 2021, 12:01pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
If It's Not Illegal, It's Legal ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
... the rules book specifies backboard in the passage which states that action constitutes a dribble ... the ring/basket is not mentioned ... so we have no rule that covers the described action.
Agree. If it's not illegal, it's legal.

Purpose and intent may handle it, but it's a stretch when the casebook play specifically, and only, mentions "backboard".
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Nov 29, 2021 at 12:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 29, 2021, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I would treat the hall striking only the ring the same as if the player merely tossed the ball up into the air and caught it again.
My reasoning for doing such is that the rules book specifies backboard in the passage which states that action constitutes a dribble.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post

Purpose and intent may handle it, but it's a stretch when the casebook play specifically, and only, mentions "backboard".
Those seem to be the two options, I agree.

Would you rule the same if:

Play: A1 dribbles on a breakaway At the FT line,(a) A1 tosses the ball off his own back board, catches the ball in the air and dunks it. (b) Attempts to toss the ball off the backboard, but the ball hits the ring and rebounds to A1 who catches the ball in the air and dunks it.

Ruling: (a) legal. (b) ????
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 29, 2021, 01:16pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
Down The Rabbit Hole ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
A1 dribbles on a breakaway At the FT line ... Attempts to toss the ball off the backboard, but the ball hits the ring and rebounds to A1 who catches the ball in the air and dunks it.
Is bob jenkins's insinuating that this is an additional illegal dribble?

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Nov 29, 2021 at 01:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 29, 2021, 01:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Is bob jenkins's insinuating that this is an additional illegal dribble?
Just noting that all the rulings need to be consistent.

Play: (yes, it's impractical). A1, from the FC, throws the ball off of (a) B's backboard, or (b) The ring attached to B's backboard. The ball rebounds in the air to A2 who is standing the the FC. Ruling: (a) BC violation. (b) ?????
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 29, 2021, 01:54pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
Another Rabbit Hole ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
A1, from the FC, throws the ball off of ... The ring attached to B's backboard. The ball rebounds in the air to A2 who is standing the the FC.
Here we go again.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Nov 29, 2021 at 01:57pm.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 29, 2021, 01:56pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
Extreme Makeover ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
... it's impractical ...
I find that by pushing rules to the limits, one can gain great incite into rules language (if one is not limited by what the NFHS publishes, or doesn't publish).

I'm the one who is often criticized by those who believe that my "twists and turns" in the same thread confuse things.

But it's not the case here.

This thread has a common theme of, "What's the location status of the ring compared to the backboard?", and every situation noted by bob jenkins pushes that point further along.

I find this thread to be fun and educationally invigorating, but we should prepare ourselves to never get any closure here, unless a "Mighty Mouse" shows up to "save the day" with an overlooked rule or casebook play citation (Nevaderef's area of expertise).

Or we may have to end up using "purpose and intent", and that's often very subjective.

And then we may have a problem comparing a "real" game call to a written test question.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Nov 29, 2021 at 05:49pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 29, 2021, 05:47pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
For Young'uns Only ...

Just for the young'uns out there. Unlike in football (and probably other sports) where a team defends its own goal, in basketball a team's own basket is the basket it's shooting at.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2021, 12:09am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Just noting that all the rulings need to be consistent.

Play: (yes, it's impractical). A1, from the FC, throws the ball off of (a) B's backboard, or (b) The ring attached to B's backboard. The ball rebounds in the air to A2 who is standing the the FC. Ruling: (a) BC violation. (b) ?????
This one is easy. Backcourt violation in both cases (a) and (b).
Why? We have a rule which tells us that the opponent’s basket is part of a team’s backcourt. 4-13-2 “…A team’s backcourt consists of the rest of the court, including the entire division line and the opponent’s basket and inbounds part of the - opponent’s backboard.“
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2021, 09:23am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
A Team’s Backcourt ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
4-13-2 A team’s backcourt consists of the rest of the court, including the entire division line and the opponent’s basket and inbounds part of the opponent’s backboard.
Nice citation Nevadaref.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2021, 09:27am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Nice citation Nevadaref.
and, part of why I'm asking -- if the basket is part of the backcourt, then shouldn't the ball hitting the basket be the same as the ball hitting the backboard?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2021, 12:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Those seem to be the two options, I agree.

Would you rule the same if:

Play: A1 dribbles on a breakaway At the FT line,(a) A1 tosses the ball off his own back board, catches the ball in the air and dunks it. (b) Attempts to toss the ball off the backboard, but the ball hits the ring and rebounds to A1 who catches the ball in the air and dunks it.

Ruling: (a) legal. (b) ????
As you have written, case (a) is legal due to a casebook ruling. I’ll note that the rationale of that casebook play was modified just this year to make tossing the ball off one’s own backboard a try for goal.
Case (b) is more difficult because the ball striking the ring is not automatically considered a try for goal. For example, a pass which strikes the ring would not reset the shot clock should one be in use. Therefore, if the official does not deem this action a try, then it must be treated as a dribble which does not strike the floor. Now we must consider if the player who threw the ball lifted his pivot foot AND returned it to the floor prior to touching the ball again. If so, then an illegal dribble violation has occurred (what the NFHS casebook now labels a traveling violation, but used to list as an illegal dribble). If not, then the action is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2021, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
Therefore, if the official does not deem this action a try, then it must be treated as a dribble which does not strike the floor.
Why isn't it just "tossing the ball in the air and catching it" -- as in the first play I posted?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2021, 09:22am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
Clarification ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Why isn't it just "tossing the ball in the air and catching it" ...
... while keeping pivot foot in contact with the floor?

But it's more than that. If it hits the opponent's ring, it appears to be a dribble (or a part of a dribble).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Dec 01, 2021 at 10:08am.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2021, 02:49am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Why isn't it just "tossing the ball in the air and catching it" -- as in the first play I posted?
Yes, that would be fine too. The two thoughts are equivalent in this instance.

Since this action is not tossing the ball to another player it cannot be a pass and as the player is not throwing for goal (certainly not at the wrong hoop), it cannot be a try. That leaves us with the potential start of a dribble. One which has yet to strike the floor. So the player may not move his pivot foot to another location and then touch the ball again prior to it contacting the floor (or the backboard or an official).

I agree with Bob that the ball striking the ring at either basket when clearly not a try for goal must be treated in exactly the same manner.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Dec 02, 2021, 02:46pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,406
Tossing Ball Into Air ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
So the player may not move his pivot foot to another location and then touch the ball again prior to it contacting the floor (or the backboard or an official) ...
... or catch it himself.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Syracuse - VA -ball through ring video?? Ktr Basketball 2 Tue Mar 29, 2016 08:48pm
Ball Lodged in Ring on Free Throws David Stripes Basketball 2 Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:04pm
Pass hitting player and going through basket Dave9819 Basketball 30 Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:26am
Ball enters ring from below fiasco Basketball 6 Fri Oct 24, 2008 06:46pm
I actually saw a Basket Interference with the new grabbed ring rule. Damian Basketball 2 Mon Nov 17, 2003 08:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1