![]() |
|
|
|||
The casebook play also specifically states "the ball hits B's backboard and bounces directly back to A1." Question: What if the ball hits B's backboard, then the ring and then to A1? Would it be legal for A1 to start a dribble? IMHO if A1 started a dribble I would rule a violation in all three situations (backboard only, backboard+ring, ring only) to be consistent in not giving A1 an unfair advantage not intended by the existing rule.
|
|
|||
Dribble ...
Quote:
4-4-4: A ball which touches ... an official is the same as the ball touching the floor at that individual’s location.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Nov 30, 2021 at 10:30am. |
|
|||
Advantage ...
Just for fun: Fake a defensive opponent out of position?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) |
|
|||
Ball Hits Opponent's Backboard ...
4.15.1 SITUATION C ... The pass against B’s backboard was the start of a dribble which ended when A1 caught the ball ... it is a violation for a second dribble.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Nov 30, 2021 at 10:28am. |
|
|||
But the ball didn't bounce directly back to A1. It touched something else, the ring. The whole point of OP was if the ball hit the ring instead of the backboard only, would it be legal to start a dribble? Some seem to indicate "legal" since the rule specifically says backboard only. I am asking if the ball hits the backboard, then the ring, then goes to A1 would it be legal for A1 to start a dribble since the rule specifically says the ball (from the backboard) must return directly to A1 which it did not.
|
|
|||
Yet Another Rabbit Hole ...
Quote:
Keeping only the ring (not ring and backboard) in the situation makes the interpretation less complex, not a lot, but a little. ![]()
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16) “I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36) Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Nov 30, 2021 at 01:17pm. |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|
![]() |
||||
Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
Syracuse - VA -ball through ring video?? | Ktr | Basketball | 2 | Tue Mar 29, 2016 08:48pm |
Ball Lodged in Ring on Free Throws | David Stripes | Basketball | 2 | Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:04pm |
Pass hitting player and going through basket | Dave9819 | Basketball | 30 | Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:26am |
Ball enters ring from below | fiasco | Basketball | 6 | Fri Oct 24, 2008 06:46pm |
I actually saw a Basket Interference with the new grabbed ring rule. | Damian | Basketball | 2 | Mon Nov 17, 2003 08:08pm |