View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 29, 2021, 01:03pm
bob jenkins bob jenkins is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I would treat the hall striking only the ring the same as if the player merely tossed the ball up into the air and caught it again.
My reasoning for doing such is that the rules book specifies backboard in the passage which states that action constitutes a dribble.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post

Purpose and intent may handle it, but it's a stretch when the casebook play specifically, and only, mentions "backboard".
Those seem to be the two options, I agree.

Would you rule the same if:

Play: A1 dribbles on a breakaway At the FT line,(a) A1 tosses the ball off his own back board, catches the ball in the air and dunks it. (b) Attempts to toss the ball off the backboard, but the ball hits the ring and rebounds to A1 who catches the ball in the air and dunks it.

Ruling: (a) legal. (b) ????
Reply With Quote