The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2021, 07:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Ball Hitting Basket Ring

I know that the ball hitting the opponent's backboard is the same as the ball hitting the court in-bounds (4-4-5). Does that apply when the ball hits the basket?

Play: B1 gets a defensive rebound. B1 attempts a pass to B2 on the opposite side of the court. The ball hits (a) A's backboard, or (b) A's basket (ring), and rebounds directly to B1. B1 then dribbles. Ruling?

In (a) an illegal (double) dribble violation (see 4.15.1 C). In (b) ?????
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2021, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,266
I think the only thing you can have, by the book, is if B1 moved to catch the ball resulting in a travel as in. 4.44.3 C
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Nov 28, 2021, 10:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
I would treat the hall striking only the ring the same as if the player merely tossed the ball up into the air and caught it again.
My reasoning for doing such is that the rules book specifies backboard in the passage which states that action constitutes a dribble. As Bob is aware the ring/basket is not mentioned.
Also, the ball does not contact the floor or an official, so we have no rule that covers the described action.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 29, 2021, 12:01pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
If It's Not Illegal, It's Legal ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
... the rules book specifies backboard in the passage which states that action constitutes a dribble ... the ring/basket is not mentioned ... so we have no rule that covers the described action.
Agree. If it's not illegal, it's legal.

Purpose and intent may handle it, but it's a stretch when the casebook play specifically, and only, mentions "backboard".
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Nov 29, 2021 at 12:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 29, 2021, 01:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I would treat the hall striking only the ring the same as if the player merely tossed the ball up into the air and caught it again.
My reasoning for doing such is that the rules book specifies backboard in the passage which states that action constitutes a dribble.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post

Purpose and intent may handle it, but it's a stretch when the casebook play specifically, and only, mentions "backboard".
Those seem to be the two options, I agree.

Would you rule the same if:

Play: A1 dribbles on a breakaway At the FT line,(a) A1 tosses the ball off his own back board, catches the ball in the air and dunks it. (b) Attempts to toss the ball off the backboard, but the ball hits the ring and rebounds to A1 who catches the ball in the air and dunks it.

Ruling: (a) legal. (b) ????
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 29, 2021, 01:16pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Down The Rabbit Hole ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
A1 dribbles on a breakaway At the FT line ... Attempts to toss the ball off the backboard, but the ball hits the ring and rebounds to A1 who catches the ball in the air and dunks it.
Is bob jenkins's insinuating that this is an additional illegal dribble?

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Nov 29, 2021 at 01:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 01, 2021, 12:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
Those seem to be the two options, I agree.

Would you rule the same if:

Play: A1 dribbles on a breakaway At the FT line,(a) A1 tosses the ball off his own back board, catches the ball in the air and dunks it. (b) Attempts to toss the ball off the backboard, but the ball hits the ring and rebounds to A1 who catches the ball in the air and dunks it.

Ruling: (a) legal. (b) ????
As you have written, case (a) is legal due to a casebook ruling. I’ll note that the rationale of that casebook play was modified just this year to make tossing the ball off one’s own backboard a try for goal.
Case (b) is more difficult because the ball striking the ring is not automatically considered a try for goal. For example, a pass which strikes the ring would not reset the shot clock should one be in use. Therefore, if the official does not deem this action a try, then it must be treated as a dribble which does not strike the floor. Now we must consider if the player who threw the ball lifted his pivot foot AND returned it to the floor prior to touching the ball again. If so, then an illegal dribble violation has occurred (what the NFHS casebook now labels a traveling violation, but used to list as an illegal dribble). If not, then the action is legal.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 29, 2021, 07:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Agree. If it's not illegal, it's legal.

Purpose and intent may handle it, but it's a stretch when the casebook play specifically, and only, mentions "backboard".
The casebook play also specifically states "the ball hits B's backboard and bounces directly back to A1." Question: What if the ball hits B's backboard, then the ring and then to A1? Would it be legal for A1 to start a dribble? IMHO if A1 started a dribble I would rule a violation in all three situations (backboard only, backboard+ring, ring only) to be consistent in not giving A1 an unfair advantage not intended by the existing rule.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 29, 2021, 08:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 1,266
What advantage would A1 get if the ball came straight to him, didnt hit the floor and he didnt move?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 30, 2021, 10:21am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Ball Hits Opponent's Backboard ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
What if the ball hits B's backboard, then the ring and then to A1? Would it be legal for A1 to start a dribble?
4.15.1 SITUATION C ... The pass against B’s backboard was the start of a dribble which ended when A1 caught the ball ... it is a violation for a second dribble.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Tue Nov 30, 2021 at 10:28am.
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 29, 2021, 12:04pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Citation ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
I would treat the hall striking only the ring the same as if the player merely tossed the ball up into the air and caught it again.
4.44.3 SITUATION C: (a) A1 tosses the ball from one hand to the other while keeping his/her pivot foot in contact with the floor; or (b) A1 throws the ball over the head of B1 and then takes several steps before catching it. RULING: Legal in (a), but a traveling violation in (b). In (b), since the ball did not touch the floor, the tossing and subsequent catch is illegal. (9-4)
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 29, 2021, 11:56am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,379
Let's Go To the Videotape ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
...see 4.15.1 C ...
4.15.1 SITUATION C: A1 attempts a pass to A2 during pressing action in A’s backcourt. The ball hits B’s backboard and deflects directly back to A1 who catches the ball and: (a) passes the ball to A2; or (b) starts a dribble. RULING: The pass against B’s backboard was the start of a dribble which ended when A1 caught the ball. In (a), the pass is legal action. In (b), it is a violation for a second dribble. (4-4-5; 9-5)

4-4-5: A ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds; see also 4-15-1.

4-15-1: It is not a part of a dribble when the ball touches a player’s own backboard.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Nov 29, 2021 at 11:58am.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Syracuse - VA -ball through ring video?? Ktr Basketball 2 Tue Mar 29, 2016 08:48pm
Ball Lodged in Ring on Free Throws David Stripes Basketball 2 Mon Feb 04, 2013 11:04pm
Pass hitting player and going through basket Dave9819 Basketball 30 Mon Dec 05, 2011 12:26am
Ball enters ring from below fiasco Basketball 6 Fri Oct 24, 2008 06:46pm
I actually saw a Basket Interference with the new grabbed ring rule. Damian Basketball 2 Mon Nov 17, 2003 08:08pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1