The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 30, 2021, 01:32pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Exam Question: Through The Basket From Below ...

#67: During rebounding action, B-5 bats the ball and the ball enters the basket from below and rises above the ring while inside the net. The ball never comes out of the net and then falls back through the basket. The official rules a violation on B-5. Is the official correct?

9-4: A player must not cause (the ball) to enter and pass through the basket from below.

1-10-1: Each basket must consist of a single metal ring, 18 inches in inside diameter, its flange and braces, and a white-cord 12-mesh net, 15 to 18 inches in length, suspended from beneath the ring.

9.4 Situation: At A’s basket, the ball enters the net from below and passes through the basket: (a) The officials do not know whether a player of Team A or Team B was responsible; (b) the ball entered the basket after A1’s pass was deflected by B1; or (c) A1 and B1 touched the ball simultaneously before it entered the basket. Ruling:*The ball becomes dead when it enters from below and passes through. In (a) and (c), a throw-in will follow by the team entitled to it under the alternating-possession procedure. In (b), it is A’s ball for a throw-in, as B1 caused the violation.


I say the official was not correct. For this to be a violation, the ball must pass through the basket, the basket is defined as both the the ring and the net, and the question states that the ball is still inside the net, not through the net.

Can anybody please confirm, or deny, my answer.

Not looking to cheat, I've already done my due diligence.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Mon Nov 01, 2021 at 12:19pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Oct 30, 2021, 02:16pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,193
I agree with your answer.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 31, 2021, 09:48am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Always Listen To bob ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins View Post
I agree with your answer.
Thanks.

I think I've had this play once, or twice, in forty years.

I honestly don't remember if I got it (ball still in the upside down net, or completely through) right, or not, but I will definitely get it right the next time it happens (if it happens again).
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sun Oct 31, 2021 at 09:52am.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 31, 2021, 06:44pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
An augment can definitely be made that this is a violation. Notice that the definition of the basket specifies that the net must be suspended from beneath the ring. That is the proper position for the net on a legal basket.
Since the ball has now passed completely through the space in which the net is specified to be on a legal basket and through the ring, it can be considered to have passed through a legal basket. It does not need to pass through the net as it is stretched above the level of the ring because that is not its legal position.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sun Oct 31, 2021, 11:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nevadaref View Post
An augment can definitely be made that this is a violation. Notice that the definition of the basket specifies that the net must be suspended from beneath the ring. That is the proper position for the net on a legal basket.
Since the ball has now passed completely through the space in which the net is specified to be on a legal basket and through the ring, it can be considered to have passed through a legal basket. It does not need to pass through the net as it is stretched above the level of the ring because that is not its legal position.
If that is the case, the basket is illegal most almost every shot as it often flips partially up as the ball is going in and through....the point being, I'm not sure it is relevant.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 01, 2021, 07:32am
Lighten up, Francis.
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 4,690
If the original situation is not a violation, then you have to score a goal. It's a live ball that has entered or remained in the basket from above. 2 points.

In other words, it's a violation.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2021, 12:44pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,392
Through The Basket From Below IAABO Exam Answer ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
#67: During rebounding action, B-5 bats the ball and the ball enters the basket from below and rises above the ring while inside the net. The ball never comes out of the net and then falls back through the basket. The official rules a violation on B-5. Is the official correct?

9-4: A player must not cause (the ball) to enter and pass through the basket from below.

1-10-1: Each basket must consist of a single metal ring, 18 inches in inside diameter, its flange and braces, and a white-cord 12-mesh net, 15 to 18 inches in length, suspended from beneath the ring.

9.4 Situation: At A’s basket, the ball enters the net from below and passes through the basket: (a) The officials do not know whether a player of Team A or Team B was responsible; (b) the ball entered the basket after A1’s pass was deflected by B1; or (c) A1 and B1 touched the ball simultaneously before it entered the basket. Ruling: The ball becomes dead when it enters from below and passes through. In (a) and (c), a throw-in will follow by the team entitled to it under the alternating-possession procedure. In (b), it is A’s ball for a throw-in, as B1 caused the violation.
IAABO says that the official is correct and uses 9-4 as the citation. I guess that "through" doesn't have to mean all the way through, inside the net must also mean through.

When I drive through a tunnel, I guess that I can still be inside the tunnel while driving through the tunnel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
Nevadaref, Camron Rust, and Scrapper1. Thanks for your recent posts that tell me that this question was not as "cut and dry" as it appeared to be, the reason for my original post to confirm my answer.


West Rock Tunnel, Route 15, Woodbridge, CT
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Sat Dec 04, 2021 at 02:47pm.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 03, 2021, 01:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,742
15 years, never seen it live. Saw it on TV last year on a rebounding deflection. The crew had the luxury of using the monitor to determine who touched it last. This delay caused the announcers to mindlessly pontificate about the potential ruling. It was quite comical, because I knew the whole time it was no less simple than a common OOB violation.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mechanics Exam Question (USA) youngump Softball 3 Sun Feb 17, 2019 10:14am
FIBA EXAM Question SmokeEater Basketball 9 Sat Dec 19, 2009 05:02am
Exam question: Please help I'm stumped. Bchill24 Basketball 4 Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:25pm
Exam #1 question zac Basketball 14 Thu Oct 03, 2002 03:00am
Question 101 on NF exam Tim Roden Basketball 4 Wed Nov 08, 2000 11:33am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1