The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 19, 2021, 03:30pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,590
Men's NCAA National Championship Videos

Play #1:



Play #2:



It appears that the NCAA is not flagging videos like they had in the past. So as a result I will post more videos over the tournament for discussion. I just was not comfortable during tournament time to post many videos and get constant flags for copywriting. I think either they backed off or realize it is not undermining their exposure.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 19, 2021, 03:32pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,590
Play #3



Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 19, 2021, 03:47pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,966
Play 1: I see the defender holding first prior to any ward-off; I think that's what the Center sees also.

Play 2: You watch the defender's right foot and you can see him stepping into the ball handler (he actually kicks A1's left foot).

Play 3: Illegal screen prior to the defender grabbing screener's shoulder.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 19, 2021, 05:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,080
1. First action was a swim move by the offense to put the defender behind him where he backed into the defender, after which the defender pulled him down....correct as called based on the first contact.

2. Defender had LGP and was maintaining it by moving toward the endline and toward the center of the court while the opponent was towards the division line. The offense never got head and shoulders past the front of the opponent's torso but contacted the front of the opponent's torso...LGP maintained, correct as called.

3. Screener moved into the path of the opponent too late...correct as called.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 20, 2021, 01:36pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,590
Play #4:



Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 20, 2021, 06:00pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,966
Play 4: good call. I'm glad the announcers didn't try to say it was the wrong call.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 20, 2021, 10:06pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 450
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
Play 4: good call. I'm glad the announcers didn't try to say it was the wrong call.
F1 occurred in the BC. The ball should have been inbounded in the BC resumed at the sideline nearest the point of interruption or the designated spot nearest to where the violation or foul occurred.

To compound the error, the crew also inbounded the ball in the FC with only 20 seconds on the shotclock. Even if they believed the F1 occurred in the FC, there should be at least 28 seconds on the shotclock.

That is why most good crews will go to the monitor when any type of flagrant foul is called; they can review spot of foul and any type of clock adjustments that need to be made.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2021, 08:03am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
F1 occurred in the BC. The ball should have been inbounded in the BC resumed at the sideline nearest the point of interruption or the designated spot nearest to where the violation or foul occurred.

To compound the error, the crew also inbounded the ball in the FC with only 20 seconds on the shotclock. Even if they believed the F1 occurred in the FC, there should be at least 28 seconds on the shotclock.

That is why most good crews will go to the monitor when any type of flagrant foul is called; they can review spot of foul and any type of clock adjustments that need to be made.
Wow, I didn't even pay attention to all of that during the game. I usually catch those types of mistakes.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2021, 09:51am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by dahoopref View Post
F1 occurred in the BC. The ball should have been inbounded in the BC resumed at the sideline nearest the point of interruption or the designated spot nearest to where the violation or foul occurred.

To compound the error, the crew also inbounded the ball in the FC with only 20 seconds on the shotclock. Even if they believed the F1 occurred in the FC, there should be at least 28 seconds on the shotclock.

That is why most good crews will go to the monitor when any type of flagrant foul is called; they can review spot of foul and any type of clock adjustments that need to be made.
I noticed that later. And I see why it was put where it was because when the play had a whistle, where was the player. A good lesson for all of us and at the NCAA it matters because of where you put the ball in play now (tick marks at 28-foot mark and endline marking).

Now if they had put the ball in the backcourt, it is set to 30. If they put the ball in the FC, they get I believe at 20 if you deem this was a turnover foul (in other words no possession when the foul occurred. I can certainly make a case this was still a defensive player at the time of the foul. Just tapping the ball away is not considered possession. Heck, I could make a case that this is a TC foul at the high school level which would result in no free throws if we do not call an Intentional Foul here. Certainly, a lot going on here and this is why these plays are not just one-dimensional.

Good catch. I do agree with the monitor part, but they are getting on them to not go for a lot of other reasons. So I think this was an obvious foul application at first and the other things might not have been considered.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2021, 09:58am
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,590
Play #5:



Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2021, 02:00pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 29,590
Play #6:



Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2021, 02:27pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,448
Play 6: Travelling
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2021, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 863
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post


Peace
It is goaltending, because the ball was outside the cylinder and on its downward flight. I would have called it as such at both the NFHS and NCAA levels.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2021, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,080
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post


Peace
It appears that the ball hit the glass first, but even with the slow-mo, it isn't entirely certain. He may have touched it just prior to it rebounding off the backboard, after which the recoil caused him to force it back to the board.

It looks like a good call at a glance and I see nothing to overturn it but I wouldn't be surprised if there had been a camera shot directly form the side that would show his hand touching the ball first.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2021, 06:20pm
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,966
Quote:
Originally Posted by JRutledge View Post


Peace
Passing on the travel allows for points to be scored via a different violation.

Missing the travel is important on this play. But the play at the basket is definitely a goaltending.
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NCAA Men's National Championship Video Requests JRutledge Basketball 75 Sun Apr 16, 2017 09:29pm
National Championship thread ballgame99 Basketball 22 Thu Apr 07, 2016 05:24pm
National Basketball Championship swerv17 Basketball 3 Wed Jul 10, 2013 08:42am
Canadian University National Championship JugglingReferee Basketball 8 Sun Mar 16, 2008 05:13pm
Canada Cup National Championship JugglingReferee Football 15 Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:55am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1