The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2020, 11:07am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,396
Provided A1 Is First To Touch The Ball ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by billyu2 View Post
Provided A2 is the first to touch the ball. (4.15.4C) In this situation the ball hitting the opponent's backboard means nothing because the ball then was first touched/deflected by teammate(s). A2 can recover the deflected pass and dribble without penalty. Correct?
Nice citation billyu2.

4.15.4 SITUATION C: After dribbling and coming to a stop, A1 throws the ball: (a) against the opponent’s backboard and catches the rebound; (b) against an official, immediately recovers the ball and dribbles again; or (c) against his/her own backboard in an attempt to score (try), catches the rebound and dribbles again. RULING: A1 has violated in both (a) and (b). Throwing the ball against the opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes another dribble, provided A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or the board. In (c), the action is legal. Once the ball is released on the try, there is no player or team control, therefore, A1 can recover the rebound and begin a dribble.

Correct? Let's discuss.



"Provided A1 is first to touch the ball" in 4.15.4 SITUATION C doesn't, at first blush, appear to address the "weird" situations that we have discussed in this thread.

4.15.4 SITUATION C says what it says (that can't be denied) so we must turn back to the actual wording of the rule for guidance regarding these "weird" circumstances.

9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has
ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.

Basketball Rules Fundamentals
19. A ball which touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated
the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches
the thrower’s backboard, it does not constitute a part of a dribble.


Consider the ball throw at the backboard to be a bounce pass that is then touched by other players.

billyu2 is correct.

It's difficult to disagree with this very specific interpretation as described in the casebook play.

Nice post billyu2.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Mar 04, 2020 at 02:55pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2020, 04:11pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
Suppose a player is dribbling into traffic and just as the ball is on the way up after hitting the floor(just before dribbler touches) a defender gets a hand in just enough to deflect the ball so that the dribbler catches the ball with both hands. The dribbler continues on and puts the ball right down starting a new dribble. Is this considered a double dribble? It sure looks like one. Would the hand touching be considered loss of control since the dribbler had to grab with two hands instead of the one?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2020, 04:28pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,396
Legal ... ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by WI_Ref View Post
Suppose a player is dribbling into traffic and just as the ball is on the way up after hitting the floor (just before dribbler touches) a defender gets a hand in just enough to deflect the ball so that the dribbler catches the ball with both hands. The dribbler continues on and puts the ball right down starting a new dribble. Is this considered a double dribble?
9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has
ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.


Does "deflect the ball" cause "lost control"?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2020, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has
ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.


Does "deflect the ball" cause "lost control"?
I'm not exactly sure, that's why I'm asking you fellas. In one sense, control was lost for a normal dribble, in another sense the player kept control of the ball.

For full disclosure, I called an illegal dribble but seeing this thread got me wondering
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2020, 04:35pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,396
Bigger Fish To Fry ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by WI_Ref View Post
I'm not exactly sure, that's why I'm asking you fellas. In one sense, control was lost for a normal dribble, in another sense the player kept control of the ball. For full disclosure, I called an illegal dribble but seeing this thread got me wondering.
You have to decide, which is why you get paid the big bucks.

Was there a short-loved, slightly interrupted dribble in the middle of this play?

And please don't lose any sleep over this.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2020, 04:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by BillyMac View Post
You have to decide, which is why you get paid the big bucks.

Was there a short-loved, slightly interrupted dribble in the middle of this play?

And please don't lose any sleep over this.
Illegal dribble it is!

No sleep lost! Ha
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Mar 04, 2020, 05:47pm
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,396
Interrupted Dribble ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by WI_Ref View Post
Suppose a player is dribbling into traffic and just as the ball is on the way up after hitting the floor(just before dribbler touches) a defender gets a hand in just enough to deflect the ball so that the dribbler catches the ball with both hands. The dribbler continues on and puts the ball right down starting a new dribble. Is this considered a double dribble? It sure looks like one. Would the hand touching be considered loss of control since the dribbler had to grab with two hands instead of the one?
Quote:
Originally Posted by WI_Ref View Post
Illegal dribble it is! No sleep lost!
4-15-5: . An interrupted dribble occurs when the ball is loose after -
deflecting off the dribbler or after it momentarily gets away from the
dribbler. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble.


So you decided that the dribble was not interrupted, even in a generic sense (which may have included a momentarily loss of player control), by the opponent's deflection.

So no loss of "control", even in a generic sense.

9-5: A player shall not dribble a second time after his/her first dribble has
ended, unless it is after he/she has lost control because of:
ART. 1 A try for field goal.
ART. 2 A touch by an opponent.
ART. 3 A pass or fumble which has then touched, or been touched by,
another player.


You were there, I wasn't, I could certainly live with your interpretation, but I might have ruled a legal play.

But hey, you probably get paid bigger bucks than me, I've been working middle school games (chronic injury) for the past two seasons.

Who am I to judge (apologies to Pope Francis).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Raymond View Post
That's probably how most of us have officiated it, but it's not what the rule book says.
Sleep well my friend.

__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

“I was in prison and you came to visit me.” (Matthew 25:36)

Last edited by BillyMac; Wed Mar 04, 2020 at 06:25pm.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Illegal dribble or not? The R Basketball 2 Mon Dec 02, 2013 06:35pm
Illegal Dribble? Mingram Basketball 2 Sun Feb 17, 2013 08:52pm
Illegal dribble or not? johnsonboys03 Basketball 6 Mon Dec 03, 2012 10:05pm
Illegal dribble? just another ref Basketball 96 Mon Sep 18, 2006 06:58am
illegal dribble elecref Basketball 22 Fri Sep 23, 2005 01:46pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1