The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 03, 2020, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Howard Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
3 technical fouls

A1 pushes B1 in the back during a throw-in lob pass. A1 is called for APUSH which is his fourth foul. A1 then turns and screams you have to be effing kidding me. A1 gets a technical foul which is his fifth foul. While reporting the foul to scores table A1 assistant coach goes ballistic. The assistant coach is assess a technical foul. After that is reported another assistant coach goes berserk and is assessed a technical foul.

What would be the order in which you would administer from there? Team control foul by A1 so we don't shoot those free throws. But do we shoot six shots for the three technical fouls?

Last edited by johnsonboys03; Fri Jan 03, 2020 at 10:02pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 03, 2020, 11:42pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 13
Why wouldn't it be six shots?

(Also you're going to be delivering some bad news to Team A's head coach.)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 03, 2020, 11:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Howard Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
I dont know why I was thinking you only shoot 1 of the consecutive Technical fouls. I was stuck on the notion that you dont "stack" those technicals or double whammy them per say. I was trying to find the administration procedure in the rule book to help our chapter complete this correctly.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 04, 2020, 04:08am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 14,783
Quote:
Originally Posted by JamesBCrazy View Post
Why wouldn't it be six shots?

(Also you're going to be delivering some bad news to Team A's head coach.)
That he has lost his coaching box?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 04, 2020, 10:14am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Rockville,MD
Posts: 852
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
A1 pushes B1 in the back during a throw-in lob pass. A1 is called for APUSH which is his fourth foul. A1 then turns and screams you have to be effing kidding me. A1 gets a technical foul which is his fifth foul. While reporting the foul to scores table A1 assistant coach goes ballistic. The assistant coach is assess a technical foul. After that is reported another assistant coach goes berserk and is assessed a technical foul.

What would be the order in which you would administer from there? Team control foul by A1 so we don't shoot those free throws. But do we shoot six shots for the three technical fouls?
Yes, you shoot six shots for the three technical fouls, the head coach is assessed 2 indirect technical fouls, and he loses the privilege of using the coaching box. You administer all penalties in high school in the order of occurrence, followed by possession at the division line. At other levels, you would administer all technical foul free throws, but what you do after the free throws and the number of free throws might differ.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 05, 2020, 01:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Howard Pennsylvania
Posts: 189
Thanks everyone. Can someone direct me to the place in the rulebook or a case play that covers this. I'd like to discuss this at tonight's chapter meeting. I dont like talking about anything without having the rule to back it up.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 05, 2020, 08:45am
Courageous When Prudent
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Hampton Roads, VA
Posts: 13,933
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
Thanks everyone. Can someone direct me to the place in the rulebook or a case play that covers this. I'd like to discuss this at tonight's chapter meeting. I dont like talking about anything without having the rule to back it up.



Thanks
There is nothing in the rulebook that says free throws are "not stacked" when a team gets consecutive technical fouls.

You will find that fouls are administered in the order they occur. And your chapter's rules interpreter should know this and expound on it.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk
__________________
A-hole formerly known as BNR
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 05, 2020, 10:06am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 19,716
Administered In The Order In Which They Occur ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by johnsonboys03 View Post
Can someone direct me to the place in the rulebook or a case play that covers this.
NFHS Basketball Rules Fundamentals
12. Penalties for fouls are administered in the order in which they occur.

NFHS 8-6-2: If there is a multiple throw and both a single personal and
single technical foul are involved, the tries shall be attempted in the order
in which the related fouls occurred, and if the last try is for a single
technical foul, or intentional or flagrant personal foul, the ball shall be put
in play by a throw-in.
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)

I was in prison and you came to visit me. (Matthew 25:36)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 05, 2020, 12:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 97
Does the head coach now have a technical foul because of the "2" indirect techincals from the assistants? Do we actually shoot 8 FT?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 05, 2020, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,887
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno View Post
Does the head coach now have a technical foul because of the "2" indirect techincals from the assistants? Do we actually shoot 8 FT?
The head coach has two (2) indirect technical fouls toward his maximum of three (3) toward ejection. Any further technical foul on him or bench personnel results in his ejection.

And he's lost his box.

Why would we shoot 8 FTs?
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 05, 2020, 01:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,612
3 technical fouls

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbruno View Post
Does the head coach now have a technical foul because of the "2" indirect techincals from the assistants? Do we actually shoot 8 FT?


2 indirect technicals ≠ a regular technical foul that must be penalized as such.

Indirect technical fouls are simply a reflection on the head coach based on incidences of misconduct by his/her bench personnel.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 technical fouls in a row... now what ? PSidbury Basketball 20 Wed Jan 15, 2014 05:28pm
Technical Fouls Chris Whitten Basketball 14 Wed Nov 09, 2011 05:41pm
Personal Fouls/Technical fouls Coach T Basketball 6 Thu Jan 30, 2003 09:35am
Technical Fouls Mo Peete Basketball 9 Thu Dec 12, 2002 01:51am
When are technical fouls added to team fouls!? Pirate Basketball 8 Thu Jan 18, 2001 10:35am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1